the remembory garden

PHOTO PROMPT © The Reclining Gentleman

image by the reclining gentleman

“Let’s go to the remembory garden, Daddy,” Vanessa said, plucking at my sleeve, “Visit the new ones.”

I asked once why a remembory garden. “The flowers remembory people who are gone. So, they don’t get forgotten again like when they were here.”

Her “garden” was next to paths leading to workers’ sheds and storage, half way across the park.

The main beds were bare, except for the feisty snow drops. Too early in a late spring.

I hoped she wouldn’t be disappointed. I was composing a platitude, when:

“See Daddy. The yellow one – someone new to remember.” (word count: 98)

Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers: February 10-12, 2016

21 thoughts on “the remembory garden

  1. Lori Carlson February 15, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    So sweet, so beautiful.. the imagination of a child says so much :)

    Like

    • taleweavering February 17, 2016 / 1:38 am

      Thank you.
      Yes, children can imagine anything because they haven’t learned the law of impossibility yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lori Carlson February 17, 2016 / 12:11 pm

        My pleasure, Phylor :) yes indeed! I would like to think I still have the imagination of a child.. though sometimes.. I am not so sure :)

        Like

  2. Dale February 15, 2016 / 12:50 am

    How can you not love the enthusiasm of this child?

    Like

  3. Margaret February 14, 2016 / 4:40 am

    Lovely story that captures the joy and optimism of a child. What a shame we seem to lose that as we get older.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 15, 2016 / 2:23 am

      You are so right — the whimsy and magic fade. Those who can keep that joy and optimism alive throughout their lives are exceedingly special people.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. gahlearner February 13, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    Such a sweet story, what a lovely idea, a remembory garden.

    Like

  5. Joy Pixley February 11, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Sweet and cute, and such a great sense of how a child would put it.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 12, 2016 / 6:44 am

      Thank you.
      The first line just came to me, and I went from there. Sometimes that happens.

      Like

  6. Sandra February 11, 2016 / 2:24 pm

    This has to be the smallest font size I have ever seen. It didn’t put me off reading your sweet story, but it was a close thing. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering February 11, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      I’m never sure what size the font will be when I publish. I use a template and I’ll set it one way, and when I publish, things have changed.
      Sorry I gave you eye strain! I can understand the hesitation to read it!
      And congratulations on your story winning.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. oldentimes February 11, 2016 / 6:59 am

    Oh, my! That is beautiful and touching! I hope someday to be part of a remembory garden for someone.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 12, 2016 / 6:47 am

      Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed my story.
      Nice to be part of a rememorby garden, I agree.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

