I can read minds

waterhouse148[1]

JW Waterhouse

I read minds

for a dollar I’ll tell you what what goes on in your head

but you already know

your grand conclusions; your elegant entrances; your warm enticements; your inelegant appetites

For a 2 dollars, I’ll read her mind

don’t you want to know what goes on in her head

her erotic dreams; what makes her coo and purr

what is her grand conclusion; her entry onto your stage; her choice of costume; her choice of man   

make hers as clear as crystalline rock to you      

I can read minds,

you see

yours so clear and contrite

compact and concise

and hers

as vast as the cosmos, deep as oceanic trenches

as bright as a bird of paradise, as brilliant as sea diamonds and ice cloaks

she needs no costume, no stage, no enticement

she will see clear through you; she can read minds too

In response to Music Prompt #29 “Read My Mind” by The Killers

6 thoughts on “I can read minds

  1. Vagrant Rhodia February 16, 2016 / 1:25 pm

    Your poem really resonated with me. In my current Work in Progress, my main character is a Roma Gypsy who is connected to the practice of mind reading through her close friend. Your words reminded me that though she is right now blind what must be changed, her power to see is very powerful.

    Thank you for your inspirational words :D

    Like

    • taleweavering February 17, 2016 / 1:37 am

      I’m glad there was sometime in what I wrote you found inspiring.
      Your story sounds interesting; the ability to see inside someone else’s thoughts is a powerful trope.
      I hope the WIP is going along well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sanaa Rizvi February 12, 2016 / 9:26 am

    what is her grand conclusion; her entry onto your stage; her choice of costume; her choice of man
    make hers as clear as crystalline rock to you

    Powerfully expressed!!

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  3. georgeplace2013 February 12, 2016 / 8:33 am

    “she will see clear through you; she can read minds too”… What a fortunate woman. Great story here and lesson

    Like

    • taleweavering February 12, 2016 / 9:14 am

      Thanks.
      Hope she continues to see clear through that sort of man!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

