color your world: lavender and the novitiate

color your world: 120 days of crayola: lavender

lavender the magic plant

with properties to heal, to calm

to seduce

I chose seduction, the lust that

dwells inside me

I wear lavender scent to attract you

to move you closer so you can catch

the scent of me the must, the lust, the sweet lavender

speaking to my virginity, to my maidenhead

intact and yours for the asking, yours for the taking

no lavender spell to require marriage – yours is destined, mine is not

but in this briefest of moments, before I am lost forever

before lavender is not my guide, take me as you find me

wanting, willing, naked to the soul

I can not go to the life of repressions, of denials

unless I know and experience that which I must most fear and deny by their standards

I will leave my lavender sprigs with thee,

so you can remember what we had, what I gave, and what I gained.

In the nunnery, they can not control my night thoughts of you.

I will ask to tend the garden, to plant lavender so it might heal me.

On thy marriage bed, then, think upon me

in my stone cell and smell the lavender

that thee know so well

remember what I gave thee

did she, you blushing bride, do as well?

10 thoughts on “color your world: lavender and the novitiate

  1. Lori Carlson February 24, 2016 / 7:12 pm

    Wow, beautifully written, Phylor.. love the ending! Gorgeous picture too :)

    Like

    • taleweavering February 25, 2016 / 1:04 am

      Thanks, Lori.
      I got the picture from a woman and lavender search! It feels like it could inspire more.

      Liked by 1 person

      • taleweavering February 25, 2016 / 1:22 am

        Oops! I was thinking of lavender elsewhere. The picture is of my mother’s azealas, taken 2010 or 2011 before I had to sell the house. I get confused easily — just like my mother’s cat.

        Like

      • Lori Carlson February 25, 2016 / 1:17 pm

        Oh Phylor! Then write more and more! I cannot wait to read it :) Have a great weekend, dear heart!

        Like

  2. Colline February 23, 2016 / 6:22 am

    Beautiful image – and a seductive scent.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 23, 2016 / 1:06 pm

      Lavender is such a sweet, seductive scent isn’t it!

      Like

      • Colline February 23, 2016 / 5:13 pm

        I agree. It is a scent that I love.

        Like

        • taleweavering February 24, 2016 / 10:35 am

          There is a small group of lavender in the landlord’s garden that is so sweet and enticing in the summer.

          Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

