Ellacinder and the Harley Davidsons

When Ellacinder was 2 she lost her mother. Her father looked everywhere: closets; the attic; the basement; under the sofa; behind the curtains. Then he bundled Ellacinder up, put her in her stroller, and strolled the neighbourhood, then the Verdant Woods. No luck. Ellacinder’s mother had vanished.

Seven years passed, and her father decided to remarry. He asked the lady next door who gladly said “Yes” as she had her eye on Ellacinder’s father for quite some time. So, at age 9 Ellacinder acquired a stepmother and two older stepsisters.

She had also acquired, as is the norm in such stories, a magical guardian, a fairy godmother. She threw a few spells around and such, just to make sure Ellacinder knew she was there to help.

Then she lost her father. She looked everywhere: closets; cupboards; under the desk; behind the sideboard; in the laundry room. She strolled through the neighbourhood and checked out the Verdant Woods. No sight or sign of her father.

As you can imagine, Ellacinder was quite sad. Her stepmother and stepsisters, also sad, tried to cheer her up. “Let’s go to the mall,” they said. “We can try on gowns and shoes.” “We can eat in the food court and see a movie.” But Ellacinder had promised to spend time with her fairy godmother, so she passed on the mall.

Her fairy godmother was the member of a biker gang, the fairy goddamned. They terrified the neighbourhood, and rode their hogs off-road through the Verdant Woods. Their wheelies tore up the wildflower meadows. Fairy Godmother was one mean, hard, wicked chick.

So Ellacinder, now aged 18, had a choice: be nice like her stepmother who worried about her, and tried to be a mother and father to her; kind like her step-sisters who lent her their clothes, did her hair, and covered for her when she snuck out to see her fairy godmother. Or, follow in the biker path of her fairy godmother, become a wild child, hook up with some guy named Prince and ride out of the story.

What do you think happened? (Had trouble getting videos to embed, and to behave. Have to click through — first is Steppenwolf “Born to be Wild,” and second is a trailer from the Disney 2015 live action Cinderella.)

Concocted for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver 54: Fractured Fairy Tales

  https://youtu.be/5UWRypqz5-o

cameria.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi60408988

E. Millais from Imagegallery.com

17 thoughts on “Ellacinder and the Harley Davidsons

  1. petrujviljoen February 27, 2016 / 5:30 am

    What a wonderful twist in the tale! Loved it. Laughed out loud!

    Like

  2. julespaige February 26, 2016 / 3:21 pm

    Definitely outside of the box. And I like it. I’ve never had a guardian anything that was ready to grant me anything. I also like how you kept including the verdant wood.

    I repaired my story and I think it reads better now. Thanks for this challenge it was fun.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 27, 2016 / 3:31 am

      I’ll have to take another look at your story then. I liked it before; I’ll super like it now.
      I thought in fairy tales, everyone gets some sort of guardian; in real life, I’m not so sure — though guardian angels and spirit guides might be out there. I fluctuate on their existence, though, like you, I’ve never had a wish granting fairy godmother or such.
      I thought I might do something with the verdant wood, but not — maybe next time.
      Glad you enjoyed the challenge! Gave me a chance to be a bit nostalgic, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 February 26, 2016 / 1:06 am

    I really enjoyed reading this! I love the description of the fairy godmother…none like I have ever heard of before.

    Like

    • taleweavering February 26, 2016 / 3:12 am

      Glad you enjoyed it. I decided to fracture the fairy godmother, and a biker chick sounded good.

      Like

  4. CPP February 25, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    Her fairy godmother was the member of a biker gang, the fairy goddamned.

    OMG —- roflmao …. sheer mad genius Phylor!

    This is one exceptionally delightful piece – excellent form and delicious fracturing! Brilliant! Loving it!

    Like

    • taleweavering February 26, 2016 / 3:16 am

      So glad it got you laughing. It was fun to write. When I decided to make the fairy godmother the bad lady of the piece, the idea of a biker chick just popped into my head! Same with the gang name, I was going to leave it blank because I had no I idea then goddamned wrote itself.
      I think my computer was hijacked by the ghost of Edward Everett Horton with the lovely, distinctive voice. I have the speakers turned off, so I don’t know if he’s telling more tales, or no ;D
      Thanks for the nice comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • CPP February 26, 2016 / 4:36 pm

        XD

        Like

  5. summerstommy2 February 25, 2016 / 2:50 pm

    Wonderful fractious tale. Beautifully done, such a dilemma we create for ourselves in life….

    Liked by 1 person

        • taleweavering February 27, 2016 / 3:44 am

          Leaning towards the biker chick — riding off with that guy Prince. As the lyrics to born to be wild suggest:

          Get your motor runnin’
          Head out on the highway
          Lookin’ for adventure
          And whatever comes our way
          Yeah Darlin’ go make it happen
          Take the world in a love embrace

          and I could sure use a change . . . . .

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Suzanne February 25, 2016 / 2:38 pm

    An excellent story. What a great twist to the classic tale. I really enjoyed reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering February 26, 2016 / 3:18 am

      So glad you enjoyed it. It was fun thinking about what tale I would fracture and how I’d go about it.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

