All I Know

All I Know

Love is in da blog and Song Lyrics Sunday join up one last time this February. A “good-bye love song,” is the prompt. I’ve always thought of this Art Garfunkel song as a good-bye to love. Art holds his love close to his heart, but his lover, well “but the ending always comes at last/Endings always come too fast . . .” What I always found so sad about this song, is Art’s continued love – the only thing he knows and understands – and how it has slipped away from his lover. Something he has experienced before. Lost of love is sad, especially when one still loves, and the other doesn’t.

So, Love is in da blog, and Song Lyrics Sunday: Art Garfunkel “All I Know” written by Jimmy Webb, lyrics from songlyrics.com, first recorded by Art Garfunkel

I bruise you, you bruise me
We both bruise too easily, too easily to let it show
I love you and that’s all I know.

All my plans have fallin’ through,
All my plans depend on you, depend on you to help them grow,
I love you and that’s all I know.

When the singer’s gone let the song go on…

But the ending always comes at last,
Endings always come too fast,
They come too fast but they past too slow,
I love you and that’s all I know.

When the singer’s gone let the song go on,
It’s a fine line between the darkness and the dawn.
They say in the darkest night there’s a light beyond

But the ending always comes at last,
Endings always come too fast,
They come too fast
But they past too slow,
I love you, and that’s all I know.

That’s all I know, that’s all I know.

7 thoughts on “All I Know

  1. Bee Halton February 29, 2016 / 2:28 am

    sigh, this is such a beautiful and sad song. thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  2. Lori Carlson February 28, 2016 / 1:32 pm

    This has always been one of my fave Art Garfunkel songs :)

    Like

    • taleweavering February 28, 2016 / 3:18 pm

      From the very first time, it “hit” a nerve with me, and in certain situations, I find myself singing “I bruise you, you bruise me/We both bruise too easily, too easily to let it show” or “But the ending always comes at last,/ Endings always come too fast,/ They come too fast/ But they past too slow,”
      Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lori Carlson February 28, 2016 / 3:55 pm

        *nods* some songs affect me that way too and I find myself singing them randomly :)

        Like

    • taleweavering February 28, 2016 / 12:40 pm

      I’ve always loved this song. The words and Art’s voice are so haunting and emotional.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

