Monty Python’s Flying Father and Son

IMG_1345

Helen of Song Lyric Sunday wrote this week:

Song Lyric Sunday is a week long process for me.  I literally start on Monday and when I hear a song I think, that’s the one!  And sometimes, that is still the one on Saturday afternoon when I write up my post.  But most times it’s like this week and it pretty much changes every single day.

My process is much the same. Sometimes, I just know there is a song I want to share, but mostly, like Helen, it tends to be a day to day, ear to mind thing.

Still in the “love” mode from last month, I came across two wonderful love songs I’d forgotten, rediscovered musicians/artists, and even listened to new stuff. But ultimately, I guess it comes down to it being March 6. That’s the day, 25 years ago, unexpectedly and suddenly, my dad passed over. I had several surprise “news” for him, saving them up for an upcoming visit; I later told him at his gravesite.

I ended up being the one holding the whole thing together. We had gotten closer the last 8 to 10 years of his life; made being the strong one harder. When I finally allowed myself to grieve, I was in the shower, hot water, tears, and suddenly the chorus of a song washing over me. It kept coming back, and coming back. Perhaps, I was grieving the first line of the chorus: “It’s not time to make a change.”

Cat Stevens, Father and Son, 1970ish

Yusuf Islam, Father and Son, 2015

It’s not time to make a change
Just relax, take it easy

You’re still young, that’s your fault
There’s so much you have to know
Find a girl, settle down
If you want you can marry
Look at me, I am old, but I’m happy

I was once like you are now
And I know that it’s not easy
To be calm when you’ve found
Something going on
But take your time, think a lot
Think of everything you’ve got
For you will still be here tomorrow
But your dreams may not

How can I try to explain?
When I do he turns away again
It’s always been the same, same old story
From the moment I could talk
I was ordered to listen
Now there’s a way
And I know that I have to go away
I know I have to go

It’s not time to make a change
Just sit down, take it slowly
You’re still young, that’s your fault
There’s so much you have to go through
Find a girl, settle down
If you want you can marry
Look at me, I am old, but I’m happy

All the times that I’ve cried
Keeping all the things I knew inside

It’s hard, but it’s harder to ignore it
If they were right I’d agree
But it’s them they know, not me
Now there’s a way
And I know that I have to go away
I know I have to go

Songwriters: YUSUF ISLAM, CAT STEVENS

Father And Son lyrics © BMG RIGHTS MANAGEMENT US, LLC

Lyrics Freaks for lyrics

But, it wouldn’t be a post about my dad if I didn’t include something like the following. Enjoy – he always did. Missing are some of our favourite top tens including the philosophers’ soccer game, an and I’m not sure I heard the parrot was pining for the fjords.. Any of yours fail to get a mention?

I haven’t been able to go visit my dad in far too long. This year, I will make the special trek I keep promising him and me. The bonsai rhoddy will need trimming, the stone cleaned, and there will lots of talking on my part.

3 thoughts on “Monty Python’s Flying Father and Son

  1. Helen Espinosa March 6, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    I’m so sorry about your loss. It’s never easy to lose someone, but it’s especially difficult when you feel like there were things left unsaid or undone. I hope you find the peace you need when you visit him. The song was so beautiful. I have always loved Cat Stevens, even though the genre of music isn’t my favorite. Thanks for sharing! <3

    Like

    • taleweavering March 7, 2016 / 10:53 am

      You’re welcome. I relistened to Cat Stevens yesterday, and watched some recent YouTube performances — his voice remains incredible.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

