it’s all in how you use the water

image: @djh 2010

Inspired by Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Music Prompt  #33: Wade in the Water

when I was very young

I mangled up my foot

great-aunt drove me

to the ocean saying

“the ocean’s salt can kill you

the ocean’s salt can cure you

it’s all in how you use the water

it’s all in how you use the water”

 

My Baptist preacher friend

telling me about the first

outdoor baptisms he conducted

down at the lakeside

saying “the lake it can cleanse you

or the lake it can take you

it’s all in how you use the water

it’s all in how you use the water”

 

I’m standing on the bridge

over the nighttime river

the water sweeps below

it can cleanse, it can kill

it can take, it can cure

it’s all in how I use the water

it’s all in how I use the water

 

21 thoughts on “it’s all in how you use the water

  1. Jamztoma March 15, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    water is a medicine for wounds, for depression, for all sorts of ailments: physical and mental. thanks for letting us know. :

    Like

    • taleweavering March 16, 2016 / 11:55 am

      Walking the beach after a storm has washed up treasures is so healing. I hope you find a way that water can benefit you.

      Like

  2. Suzanne March 11, 2016 / 5:47 am

    Wow. This would make the most brilliant song.

    Like

    • taleweavering March 11, 2016 / 11:54 pm

      Thank you Suzanne. I’m really not musical, but sometimes I write lyrics nonetheless.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Suzanne March 12, 2016 / 2:53 am

        You do it well. All you need now is a musician friend who writes songs without words. :)

        Like

  3. summerstommy2 March 11, 2016 / 5:18 am

    This is an excellent response my friend…now I think you should have put it to music and given us a rendition of it. Lovely use of repetition.

    Like

    • taleweavering March 11, 2016 / 11:52 pm

      My musical talent is confined to a bit of kazoo playing. Should some musician type be willing to put the words to music, I shall certainly let you know. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • summerstommy2 March 11, 2016 / 11:54 pm

        I live in hope that one day you’ll regale me a musical delight….

        Like

        • taleweavering March 11, 2016 / 11:56 pm

          My kazoo playing is a bit rusty, as is my kazoo! You shall have to wait a while for that musical delight. Any requests?

          Liked by 1 person

          • summerstommy2 March 11, 2016 / 11:58 pm

            Oh you could start with ‘Crazy’ then move on to ‘wonderful world’ then end with a rousing hallelujah chorus…shouldn’t be too hard on your rusty kazoo….

            Like

            • taleweavering March 12, 2016 / 12:00 am

              Not sure I know the song Crazy — I know songs with Crazy in the lyrics and maybe in the title. Oh, which hallelujah — the Leonard Cohen sung by k.d.lang one or the other one?

              Liked by 1 person

              • summerstommy2 March 12, 2016 / 12:01 am

                ‘Crazy’ by Patsy Cline and of course the KD Lang version..

                Like

                • taleweavering March 13, 2016 / 5:07 pm

                  I suspect you already know the k.d. and Patsy connection — at one point, k.d. felt she might be the reincarnation of Patsy, so extra emphasis on the band being the Reclines. From Wikipedia: “After secondary school, Lang attended Red Deer College, where she became fascinated with the life and music of Patsy Cline and ultimately determined to pursue a career as a professional singer.[7] She formed a Patsy Cline tribute band called the Reclines in 1983, and they recorded a debut album, Friday Dance Promenade at Sundown Recorders which was owned by Larry Wanagas who immediately dropped everything to become her personal manager.”
                  And, hey, way too much information I know.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • summerstommy2 March 13, 2016 / 5:18 pm

                    Well there you go….I didn’t know that, so today I have learned something new and its only 8.15am.

                    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

