the quest for a quest

waterhouse a female study

(Female figure study, JW Waterhouse)

I’ve sent characters questing – intentionally or no – in different sorts of worlds and for all manner of reasons. Few weeks back, as much from having fun translating English into Welsh (I love the look and what I suppose it sounds like) and wordling, I created yet another character. The post reads like the start of a quest; I suppose in a way it was meant to be. Far easier to start than to finish!

This week’s Tale Weaver gives me too many options: the quests/questions that never finished (got at least 3 of those); quests that have been writing themselves inside my head – currently one cast of characters with 3 possible story lines; the Welsh Wordle; or, the Gaelic Gambit. Google Translate now includes Scottish Gaelic; a language towards which I hold an affinity. (Note: affinity, not ability).

I don’t know the answer. So, I’m going on a quest for a quest. Back through the brambles (and the bambles). Visit with ravens and younger selves. Be taken on a quest by a singing sword (not exactly an original idea on my part). Follow a healer with “photographic memory” in a phantasmagorical medieval time before cameras had been invented. Revive (interesting choice of words) the Sinister Sisterhood.

In the thousand plus posts I’ve made, there might be a questale with questables. Hey, maybe even beginning, middle AND end. So,

Mar sin, gus am faigh mi mo chuairt, ‘s dòcha gum leatsa a bhith tlachdmhor aon.

In other words . . . . 

Felly, hyd nes i mi ddod o hyd i fy ymgais, efallai eich un chi fod yn un dymunol.

And: Tale Weaver #57: The Quest

7 thoughts on “the quest for a quest

  1. Suzanne March 17, 2016 / 7:59 pm

    my mind went off in a similar direction – a quest for a quest is something I can relate to right now. I got completely mixed up linking to this week’s prompt and commented a lot of older entries on a MLM from last year. I wrote one on one of your old posts. Now I’m on a quest to figure out what day and year it is :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering March 20, 2016 / 7:35 pm

      As of this moment in the reality bubble around my house it is 7:34 pm on March 20, 2016 — the first day of spring. Does that help?

      Like

      • Suzanne March 20, 2016 / 9:34 pm

        Over here – it’s the beginning of autumn yet today is a gorgeous day weather wise. :)

        Like

  2. summerstommy2 March 17, 2016 / 5:17 pm

    The whole notion of a quest within a quest is so intriguing even if it is just the mere suggestion of the quest being undertaken in any one of a thousand magical places my interest is piqued. There is the real possibility of a physical quest and a psychological quest happening at the same time or even simultaneously…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering March 20, 2016 / 7:39 pm

      A quest may be a search for words, and indelible ink that does not bleed nor run when wet. Where one goes in search on these may be to “one of a thousand magical places” both within and without the corporal body.
      And sometimes a quest is just finding a reason for today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • summerstommy2 March 20, 2016 / 8:04 pm

        I have heard that said, I hope your days don’t start in that fashion…

        Like

        • taleweavering March 22, 2016 / 2:24 am

          Guess it depends on me, and how the day feels when I open my eyes and say it’s morning, no matter if it’s the dark of night. Sometimes I sense the day even before I open my eyes.
          Just the way it is.

          Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

