3 quests

This is a joining of Helen’s Song Lyric Sunday with Michael’s Tale Weaver prompt: Quest. Three songs about questing – from my retro music time period – I don’t know what the most modern music would be saved onto my lap top?

So, first is Stan Rogers and “Witch of the Westmorland,” followed by the Strawbs, “Hero and Heroine,” and finished with Wishbone Ash, “Warrior.” All about quests, not resonating with Helen and her excellent choice, but something I’d decided awhile ago. There are so many more quest songs I love; I really wish I had the guts to go on my own quest someday.

If music now called progressive rock bothers your senses or sensibilities, you are under no obligation to list to “Hero and Heroine,” or “Warrior.”

But it would be nice if you would listen to Stan Rogers’ song – he has captured the quest so well – long before it was the prime fodder of video games, television, cable and movies.

For: She said, “Ride with your brindled hound at heel/And your good grey hawk in your hand./And there’s none can harm the knight who’s lain/With the Witch of the Westmorland.”

And hey, he’s been my hero (as you may have noticed) for a long, long time. And his death, trying to save others, only makes him more of a hero – don’t you think?

 

witch of the Westmoreland

witch of the westmorland (lyrics via lyricsmode.com)

Pale was the wounded knight
That bore the rowan shield,
And cruel were the raven’s cries
That feasted on the field,

Pale was the wounded knight
That bore the rowan shield,
Loud and cruel were the raven’s cries
As they feasted on the field,

Saying, “Beck water, cold and clear,
Will never clean your wound.
There’s none but the Maid of the Winding Mere
Can mak’ thee hale and soond.”

Singing, “Beck water, cold and clear,
Will never heal your wound.
There’s none but the Witch of the Westmorland
Can make thee hale and sound.”

“So course well, my brindled hounds,
And fetch me the mountain hare
Whose coat is as gray as the Wastwater
Or as white as the lily fair.”

Who said, “Green moss and heather bands
Will never staunch the flood.
There’s none but the Witch of the West-mer-lands
Can save thy dear life’s blood.”

“So turn, turn your stallion’s head
Till his red mane flies in the wind,
And the rider o’ the moon goes by
And the bright star falls behind.”

“Turn, turn your stallion’s head
Till his red mane flies in the wind,
And the rider of the moon goes by
And the bright star falls behind.”

And clear was the paley moon
When his shadow passed him by;
Below the hill was the brightest star
When he heard the houlet cry,

Clear was the waning moon
When a shadow passed him by;
Below the hill were the brightest stars
When he heard the owlet cry.

Saying, “Why do you ride this way
And wharfore cam’ you here?”
“I seek the Witch of the West-mer-lands
That dwells by the Winding mere.”

Singing, “Why do you ride this way
And wherefore came you here?”
“I seek the Witch of the Westmorland
Who dwells by the Winding mere.”

“Then fly free your good grey hawk
To gather the goldenrod,
And face your horse intae the clouds
Above yon gay green wood.”

And it’s weary by the Ullswater
And the misty brake fern way
Till through the cleft o’ the Kirkstane Pass
The winding water lay.

And it’s weary by the Ullswater
And the misty brake fern way
Till through the cut of the Kirkstane Pass
The winding water lay.

He said, “Lie down, my brindled hounds,
And rest, my good grey hawk,
And thee, my steed, may graze thy fill
For I must dismount and walk.

He said, “Lie down you brindled hound
And rest ye, my good grey hawk,
And thee, my steed, may graze thy fill
For I must dismount and walk.

“But come when you hear my horn
And answer swift the call,
For I fear ere the sun will rise this morn
You may serve me best of all.”

”Come when you hear my horn
And answer swift the call,
For I fear ere the sun will rise this morn
Ye will serve me best of all.”

And it’s down to the water’s brim
He’s borne the rowan shield,
And the goldenrod he has cast in
To see what the lake might yield.

And it’s down to the water’s brim
He’s borne the rowan shield,
And the goldenrod he has cast in
To see what the lake might yield.

And wet rose she from the lake
And fast and fleet gaed she,
One half the form of a maiden fair
With a jet-black mare’s body.

Wet rose she from the lake
And fast and fleet went she,
One half the form of a maiden fair
With a jet-black mare’s body.

And loud, long and shrill he blew,
Till his steed was by his side;
High overhead his grey hawk flew
And swiftly he did ride,

Loud, long and shrill he blew,
Till his steed was by his side;
High overhead the grey hawk flew
And swiftly he did ride.

Saying, “Course well, my brindled hounds,
And fetch me the jet-black mare!
Stoop and strike, my good grey hawk,
And bring me the maiden fair!”

“Course well, my brindled hound,
Fetch me the jet-black mare!
Stoop and strike, my good grey hawk,
And bring me the maiden fair!”

She said, “Pray sheath thy silvery sword,
Lay down thy rowan shield.
For I see by the briny blood that flows
You’ve been wounded in the field.”

She said, “Pray sheath thy silvery sword,
Lay down thy rowan shield.
For I see by the briny blood that flows
You’ve been wounded in the field.”

And she stood in a gown of the velvet blue,
Bound ’round with a silver chain,
She’s kissed his pale lips aince and twice
And three times ’round again.

She stood in a gown of velvet blue,
Bound ’round with a silver chain,
And she’s kissed his pale lips once and twice
And three times ’round again.

She’s bound his wounds with the goldenrod,
Full fast in her arms he lay,
And he has risen, hale and sound,
With the sun high in the day.

And she’s bound his wounds with the goldenrod,
Full fast in her arms he lay,
And he has risen, hale and sound,
With the sun high in the day.

She said, “Ride with your brindled hound at heel
And your good grey hawk in hand.
There’s nane can harm the knight who’s lain
With the Witch of the West-mer-land.”

“Ride with your brindled hound at heel
And your good grey hawk in hand.
And there’s none can harm the knight who’s lain
With the Witch of the Westmorland.”

She said, “Ride with your brindled hound at heel
And your good grey hawk in your hand.
And there’s none can harm the knight who’s lain
With the Witch of the Westmorland.”

Strawbs: Hero & Heroine (all band members at the time contributed)

Hero’s face was gaunt and tanned
His sail was set in search of land
His life-raft, solely by him manned
Was guided by the tide
Heroine wore fleecy white
She beckoned like some saviour bright
Shipwrecked sailors in the night
Were bid welcome to her side.
Where one man’s search must surely cease
The irresistible white fleece
Led Hero in search of the peace
Which she alone could offer
Thus he knelt before her feet
Wary lest their eyes should meet
He knew his life was incomplete
For he had yet to suffer.
Enticing Heroine, so calm
Took Hero firmly by the arm
Told him that she meant no harm
That she alone could save him
Hero could no longer speak
While realising he was weak
His life increasingly grew bleak
For all the love she gave to him.
While storm clouds gathered high above
The heroine he grew to love
Turned slowly to a snow white dove
And spread her wings to fly
Crushed and broken in the end
Hero watched his soul ascend
Knowing that he was condemned
To sail all alone to die.

Wishbone Ash: Got to be a Warrior (lyrics ?)

I’m leaving to search for something new,
Leaving everything I ever knew.
A hundred years in the sunshine
Hasn’t taught me all there is to know.
In the valley, we will gather there,
Helpless in our surrender.
Tomorrow the plow becomes the sword –
Make us stronger in our danger.
Time will pass away,
Time will guard our secret.
I’ll return again
To fight another day.
I’d have to be a warrior –
A slave I couldn’t be –
A soldier and a conqueror,
Fighting to be free.
(repeat three times)

Thanks Helen for hosting this. And as it seems like it needs an reprise or an encore:

PS: And thanks, Michael, for being a such fantastic TWer! Next week, I’ll have to choose a version of “Thanks for the Memories,” Winking smile

3 thoughts on “3 quests

  1. Sheri April 9, 2016 / 9:14 am

    Great post, I enjoy being introduced to music I’ve not heard before.

    Like

  2. summerstommy2 April 4, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    I think some days a quest is a good way to spend your day either physically or just floating about in your head and imagination…..great choices of song too…..

    Like

    • taleweavering April 5, 2016 / 11:20 am

      As many have written/said: Life is really just a quest after all.
      May all your quests be the sort with happy endings.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

