collage 22: distortions

Collage 22

Passageways are distortions; so elongated when not shared

by two as one.

Why did you let me misunderstand?

Why not turn the mirror and show me

who you saw; while I squinted at distorted bullet-glass?

A fluid kiss upon the lips, a held hand, a kitchen-waltz

any might have rattled my perceptions.

Why didn’t you shake me, or

take me in your arms

(even if in a stagger)

to your narrow bed and

whisper your desire?

Another exquisite collage created by Yves for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Writing Prompt 157, Collage 22. Thanks for the Shel Silverstein quote. An amazing poet, song writer, story-teller, cartoonist. Time for a Shel-fest/feast.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “collage 22: distortions

  1. wildchild47 May 2, 2016 / 8:48 am

    There is such a wistful, mournful yet elegant quietness to this piece – an exploration where a sense of desperation runs through this, but not in a “bash you over the head way” – which is perhaps, where the strength lies. Beautiful job Phylor. :)

    Like

    • taleweavering May 4, 2016 / 2:20 am

      Thanks — I had been writing one of those lost love; what ifs pieces, not sure where to take it, and when I saw Yves collage, I realize where I thought I might take distortions.
      And you have the emotions right that I was feeling/thinking of as I wrote.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bastet May 1, 2016 / 10:33 am

    How beautiful … and I’ve asked these questions and been asked them too .. how odd that they continue to float awaiting answers.

    Like

    • taleweavering May 4, 2016 / 2:25 am

      Perhaps due to the nature of love, no matter how culturally expressed. These are the what ifs that both have to answer, and I find I can get said when I think of either way the situation could go.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bastet May 4, 2016 / 2:27 am

        Yes, I think you’re right … universal questions … something to think about.

        Like

  3. Michael May 1, 2016 / 6:37 am

    I did like this as you provided so much to consider and to me asked a lot of questions…..well done….

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering May 1, 2016 / 8:28 pm

      : )
      I was working on a what if? love piece, and when I saw your collage, I thought — there’s the missing pieces.

      Liked by 3 people

I love dialogue. Do you?

