sable island tilus

Usually I don’t start working on the prompt before I have finished reading it all the through. But, as soon as I saw the video upon which this week’s prompt rested, I knew what I’d write about. So I skipped everything, including Paloma’s poem. Which is wonderfully expressive of the life of a wild island pony.  And my very first tilus!

And, to give a bit of context for those unfamiliar with the wild ponies of  Sable Island, I’ve included links to some videos, and the Parks Canada website. Unfortunately, a 1958 short documentary fought with me, til I let it win. Hopefully the link will take you to the NFB site to watch the film “Sable Island,” by Allan Wargon. 

When ever I think of these ponies, whose future, though now protected, is uncertain, I feel the sea tang, hear the dune grass whisper, and think of survival, determination and spirit. And, I think of freedom; of the wild in all of us.

Sable Island ponies

sand wind grass

free

Seven wild horses walking on dunes.

@ Parks Canada

Wild ponies, Sable Island, Nova Scotia (photo by John deVisser)

Hopefully link leds to documentary!

 

 

https://www.nfb.ca/film/sable_island/embed/player

Rick Mercer, Canadian comedian visits Sable Island

radio clip

Inspired & fond remembories conjured by B & P’s Shadorma & Beyond: wild ponies at Assateague Island

Working on some blog changes as pictures have disappeared, so maybe it’s time for some house cleaning and a new slide show.

To wild ponies.

 

9 thoughts on “sable island tilus

  1. Bastet May 2, 2016 / 3:16 am

    What a splendid post Phylor, and I like how you used the tilus as a closing for your reflections … very very close to a haibun actually! Brava!

    Like

    • taleweavering May 4, 2016 / 2:22 am

      Thank you for kind words. Is the haibun a story (often a journey) then summed up in a haiku? I have an irrational fear of haiku, lol.

      Like

      • Bastet May 4, 2016 / 2:25 am

        Yes a haibun is usually a story about a journey (spiritual or geographical with reflections and very brief) capped off with a haiku … which can be a sum up or a reflection … some people have begun to use tanka or even shadorma to top off the prose poem … but at that point they’d have to be called something else. I can’t imagine why you’d fear the haiku – unless of course you’ve met some of the more fanatical haiku poets … they’ve been known to throw a wrench in the works of many a novice.

        Like

  2. Candy May 1, 2016 / 3:25 pm

    love the wild and free feel of this

    Like

    • taleweavering May 4, 2016 / 2:23 am

      Thank you Candy. There is something about the ponies on Sable Island that call to the wild and free somewhere deep inside me.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

