Tools for Dealing with Repetitive Thinking

This post provides so many excellent ideas about dealing with repetitive thinking — a powerfully negative aspect of my mental illness. These tips/ideas will, I hope, help me.

Living, Learning and Letting Go

1280px-I_Don't_Know_ANY_of_This!

One of the main ways we make ourselves miserable is by repetitive thinking.  Very few of our thoughts are new; we recycle them again and again.  We ruminate about past traumas, feel indignant over ways we were slighted, or obsess about possible future problems.  Repetitive thinking can lead to depression and anxiety.

Below I am going to list many tools you can use when you find yourself trapped in this cycle.  They are not listed in any particular order.  If one doesn’t work for you at a given time, try another.

1)  Say “Be here now” to yourself and shift your focus to the present. Do that every time you find yourself thinking about the past, worrying about the future, or into repetitive thinking of other kinds. You may need to say the phrase hundreds of times a day when you start, but if you continue saying it and bringing…

View original post 829 more words

9 thoughts on “Tools for Dealing with Repetitive Thinking

  1. Dizzy Chick May 24, 2016 / 4:23 pm

    some great tips, thank you for sharing.
    I hope some work for you.
    xo

    Like

    • taleweavering May 25, 2016 / 3:50 am

      I hope so, too. So much of my sadness and problems can be found in those shallow graves of repetitiveness.

      Like

  2. imagineambition May 23, 2016 / 11:16 pm

    I found some good ideas here. I’ve been working really hard since March to break a negative cycle. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • taleweavering May 25, 2016 / 3:52 am

      I’m glad you found some things in the article to help with breaking your negative cycle. Good luck with your work on correcting the negative cycle!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Stella May 23, 2016 / 7:14 pm

    I call it “looping thoughts”–the demon living in my brain.

    Like

    • taleweavering May 25, 2016 / 3:56 am

      “Looping thoughts” is a good descriptor. Good luck with your battles.

      Like

  4. Karuna May 23, 2016 / 1:30 pm

    Thanks for re-blogging my post. I hope you and your readers find it valuable.

    Like

    • taleweavering May 23, 2016 / 6:25 pm

      I am sure that your post will be of assistance. Thank you for allowing me to share your special voice.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

