yellow toque

So hard to look at that picture now. Your silly yellow toque so I wouldn’t lose you in the crowded big city. I said that red hoodie would clash with that old green parka you wouldn’t throw out.

Funny isn’t it, how our last picture, my last picture of you taken with snow melting, river rolling, clouds thin and high.

So sorry. Hammered last night when I sent that photo. This morning, my head throbbing, my mind forms the words – “damn, off on  honeymoon. omg! who read the message first?”

Texted to me Laughing out loud by myself for FFfAW Challenge 05/31: #68 (image provided by Barbara Taylor)

20 thoughts on “yellow toque

  1. luckyjc007 May 31, 2016 / 11:06 pm

    Wonderful story showing regret that the relationship no longer exist and regret that the picture was sent and shouldn’t have been.

    Like

    • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 8:57 pm

      Thanks — it was the distance between the person on the bench and the photographer that got me thinking of relationships and the distances within and without.
      Sorry I haven’t been dropping by your blog more often. I rarely seem to leave my own little blogging cave, lol.

      Like

  2. Deborah Drucker May 31, 2016 / 8:49 pm

    I like the description of the person in the photo from the point of view of the photographer, which conveys the relationship. The photographer person did not realize what was happening in the relationship and how it was going south. :)

    Like

    • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 9:19 pm

      That’s what really struck me right away the distance between photographer and subject — the belated realization of the distance in the picture was the distance within the relationship.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael May 31, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    There is a sense of loss and confusion so well developed in these few lines. So well done..

    Like

      • Michael June 3, 2016 / 9:17 pm

        Your most welcome ( practicing my US etiquette)

        Like

          • Michael June 3, 2016 / 9:24 pm

            Accepted mate…..tips his hat, if he was wearing one, in return….

            Like

            • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 9:37 pm

              I complement you, kind sir, if I may on your manners which are of the upmost quality.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Michael June 3, 2016 / 9:39 pm

                No worries good lady said scratching his arse and picking his nose, I know how to behave proper I can tell you…

                Like

                • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 9:46 pm

                  I agree, re-arranging my undergarments, and wiping my nose on my sleeve. Dear sir, I totally agree.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • Michael June 3, 2016 / 9:47 pm

                    You are obviously richer than I thought…you have undergarments? Wow!!

                    Like

                    • Michael June 3, 2016 / 10:16 pm

                      SOCKS?!!!
                      Luxury sheer luxury…..I dream about wearing socks….

                      Like

  4. J.A. Prentice May 31, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    I like the phrase “my last picture of you taken with snow melting, river rolling, clouds thin and high.” Wonderful story.

    Like

    • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 9:08 pm

      Thank you. There was so much going on in the photograph — I noticed the melting snow early on, but only later thought of the physical landscape as part of the story. And, I was trying to figure out if that was NYC with the Freedom Tower taken from Hoboken or somewhere elses entirely.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Priceless Joy May 31, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    Oh no! Did the love of his life marry someone else? Great story! A lot of emotions woven in!

    Like

    • taleweavering June 3, 2016 / 9:06 pm

      Yep — and sent a sentiment message to the former lover who was on their honeymoon. Embarrassing. What struck me is the positioning of the photographer in relation to the person on the bench. Made me think of distances and relationships.
      Your prompts have been excellent, and I’ve saved some for when I’m writing more again.

      Like

      • Priceless Joy June 3, 2016 / 10:32 pm

        That makes sense – distances and relationships. Thank you Phylor!

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

