the book

blank-book-cover-page_79547

With apologies to Michael, and especially Miss Marbles and Sal[ivate], silliness for Mindlovemisery’s Tale Weaver # 73  Making Sense of Nonsense.

I have an acquaintance who visits on Grimace Street, and is a close confidante of the marvelous Miss Marbles. Her tales are related elsewhere, so I’ll keep to this particular story.

He was enjoying a glass of elderberry wine, lounging in one of Miss Marbles’ comfy chairs. There had been a comfortable silence between them – the way close friends can enjoy each other without a word passing.

“She will need the book; don’t forget.” Miss Marbles often came out with what seemed like a random thought that never was random. So he wrote in his diary: book needed. With no female acquaintances of his in particular need of a book, he just hummed and whistled his way home. Last he thought of it, he mused “Odd name for a book. Wonder what it’s about” and promptly forgot about it completely.

He continued to aid damsels in distress who needed many things – but the idea of the book never came to mind. Some problems were easily resolved, others, well . . . it’s not my place to give intimate details of his usually successful damsel-assisting talents.

One damsel seemed determined to be well . . . depressed. Stubbornly depressed. But such is the way of the rescuing/assisting damsels in distress business.

My friend was going through his old diaries, looking for stories to tell, when he came across the entry prompted by Miss Marbles all those years ago. Book needed. He puzzled and pondered a bit as he hadn’t written down the book’s title. Certain he had the correct title, The Book of Universal Cerfin, he confidently googled it. No luck. OK, now wasn’t the author Bott Grojean, but that led nowhere. He decided the book must have a cure for stubborn depression. He tried all sorts of combination of spellings, but it was as if the book never existed.

Feeling a bit defeated, my friend made a cup of tea, looked out at his fern garden, and thought it might be time for a trip to Grimace Street, and renew his friendship with Miss Marble and her neighbours, including the woman with the grey bangs.

A definite “arf, arf” at the front door – meaning “don’t doodle or dawdle.” Sal[ivate], Miss Marble’s furry companion sat on my friend’s doorstep. With a brown paper wrapped book-shaped package affixed to his back with purple grosgrain ribbon. And an envelope with my friend’s name calligraphed in gold.

name of friend (can’t give away secrets such as that):

I can’t believe, after reading me 120 drafts, you don’t remember writing and self-publishing this book. It does exist. Here’s my copy. Your discussion of the stubbornly depressed begins on page 450. Miss Marbles. PS: new batch of elderberry wine if you feel like writing a sequel.

13 thoughts on “the book

  1. Shadeau June 23, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    I LOVE THIS!!! All of it, but especially the bit about the business of rescuing/assisting damsels in distress (and their penchant for remaining in the sad condition)–and of course I love the triumphant ending!! Great post–I may now be inspired to try to answer the challenging prompt ;)

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:21 am

      Can’t you just see the rescues! Glad you liked my little romp. So nice to have you back.

      Like

      • Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:22 am

        Yes, it made me smile–thank you always for the warm welcome, it’s very nice to be back :)

        Like

  2. Soul Gifts June 23, 2016 / 3:55 am

    Is Sal[ivate] by any chance a bull dog ? just wondering, ‘cos they salivate a lot…. :)

    Like

  3. Michael June 23, 2016 / 2:32 am

    Miss Marble, just one of her…lol…you have me chuckling….and Miss Marble would be so flattered to think she raises a mention in another story……lovely contribution to the nonsense I have to say…..thanks for both contributions……I think one of your best pieces I would say, even mentioned the lady with grey bangs, you do have a good memory…

    Like

    • taleweavering June 23, 2016 / 2:44 am

      The “s” was so she could deny all knowledge! lol
      I have a strange trivia-memory. I forget stuff quite easily but then things will stick on my brain like flypaper. I’ll forget yesterday, to pay the bills, but I did remember the lovely lady with the grey bangs.
      Glad I made you laugh 2 x. Even better than just once.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael June 23, 2016 / 2:47 am

        It was delightful..and you should be careful Miss Marble has a way of getting back at you should you mis-spell her name or any such nonsense….just saying….she may come knocking on your door with a small potion in her hand…..

        Like

        • taleweavering June 23, 2016 / 3:24 am

          Please do give my apologies. I shall be careful of potions until I have your reassurance that she is okay with my error. People misspell all three of my names all the time — guess it doesn’t bother me as it might others. Other than becoming a groundhog, is there any way I can make up for my error?

          Liked by 1 person

          • Michael June 23, 2016 / 3:26 am

            She’s pretty laid back, I’ll tell her you are a good friend, she forgets as she’s so often knee deep in her cauldrons making her custom made potions…..she has a spelling potion she might send your way…..you drink it down saying your ABC….

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

