therapy night/morning #1

My therapist thinks (and she is right as usual) I have to stop the “but” and the negative that goes with it. Like I did this or that BUT negative this or that about positive this or that.

So I reluctantly said I would try and drop the but negative. And find things to be happy, grateful, positive about.

I’ve tried gratitude journals, etc. but I’m a lousy journalist.

So, let’s see if before I shut off my computer each night/morning, I can post something.

I made it to therapy today. And today I made people laugh on purpose. And that can’t be all bad, now can it?

18 thoughts on “therapy night/morning #1

  1. wildchild47 June 24, 2016 / 4:07 pm

    Small steps. Small steps. And before you realize it …. all those small steps add up to something that means you have come from point A – zig zagging and dipsy doodling along the way – to point J – and it DOES mean something.

    So yeah, it’s hard to rewrite the automatic script – but keep trying – and don’t beat yourself up when you think you’ve “failed.” – Instead, try giving yourself a hug and some gentle comfort, and start again. If you have accepted all the negatives for so long, then why can’t you learn to accept and believe in the positives? It may seem insurmountable – but it can be done – one small step at a time.

    I’m rooting for ya!

    Hugs Phlyor :D

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 9:35 pm

      Thanks, Pat. I promised my therapist I’d work on my but attitude. She reminded me there will be days that seem to have little positive to offer — those will be the tough ones. Retraining an ancient brain isn’t easily done. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • wildchild47 June 24, 2016 / 9:48 pm

        I TOTALLY get it – 1000% – but you know – I believe you and I (cause I’m in the same boat) can and will do this.

        Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:21 am

      Thanks. I can add that to my list. I’m happy when I make someone else smile or feel special.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shadeau June 23, 2016 / 7:11 pm

    Standing ovation, Phylor–you done good! Truly, I understand how difficult it can be to shuck the “buts”–and I’ve never bothered to journal either, other than blog poetry posts (a sort of journal…). Sending you safe love from afar :)

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:22 am

      Thank you. Journaling is frustrating if I have to as I’ll fall asleep or some such.

      Like

      • Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:26 am

        I don’t think I could actually “journal”–not for love, money, or with a gun to my head (heck, I’d be grateful for the last option–come on, smile with me!). I guess I appreciate my own poetry/creative writing most of the time–but journaling is just too close and icky for me, so I guess my self-esteem still needs work…but not tonight :)

        Like

        • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:32 am

          Not a think to start late at night. Some say to write for 15 minutes when you first wake up. I need coffee first and I go to bed and wake up anytime of the day or night.

          Like

          • Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:39 am

            Oh gosh, I have no idea what gibberish language would appear if I wrote when I first woke up!! The last time the power went out, my neighbor came up to check on me once he heard me moving around (early for me, not for him)–I couldn’t answer his basic questions, got frustrated, and he said, “should I come back when you get your shit together?” Hahaha! I just don’t do “wake up” well, and I’m definitely not a morning person–lately I stay up till 5-6am, then sleep till mid-afternoon…and it still takes a good couple hours till I’m “functioning” :)

            Like

            • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:45 am

              Sounds like your circadian rhythms are off like mine. Backwards, and being bipolar makes it worse.

              Like

              • Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 5:14 am

                I’m not sure–I do know that it’s quieter and cooler (in warm months), more peaceful for me in the strange wee hours; and I suspect menopausal hormones contribute to the odd schedule… I’m so sorry that “backwards and being bipolar” makes your situation worse. I’m rather liking my new “weirdness”, gaining self-acceptance/love. The only problem is that on days when I need to go out and do errands, I have to be up earlier–so earlier to bed too, bummer :) Take good care of YOU–xxoo, Stella

                Like

  3. Sheri June 23, 2016 / 4:26 pm

    Good try! But…do you think that perhaps saying “…can’t be all bad…” is just another way of minimizing it? Maybe I look at it that way because I do the exact same thing. Perfect example is my recent spate of writing. I’ve had some great comments, but all I can think of is “Boy I’m really putting on a good act here!”

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:26 am

      Good point Sheri. It’s so ingrained that it’s the automatic response no matter what. Self-deprecating humour was part of my defense as was minimizing.
      I hope #2, just published will be less of a minimizer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bastet June 23, 2016 / 5:35 am

    Not bad at all I’d say …

    Like

    • taleweavering June 23, 2016 / 6:43 am

      Thank you.
      How are you doing? Silly question, I know, but the kind I ask.

      Like

      • Bastet June 23, 2016 / 8:07 am

        I think it’s cool to ask someone how they’re doing … I do it all the time, though people usually just say fine. Anyway … I’m happy to be home and I’m getting back into my life – so I feel really good. Thanks for asking :-D !

        Like

        • taleweavering June 23, 2016 / 11:35 am

          When I saw you back on facebook, then wordpress, I thought you were hanging in there. Glad to hear you are getting settled in. Thanks again for sharing those pictures of your mother.

          Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

