therapy night/morning #2

My wordpress dashboard indicates over 24 hours since I posted which means I’m overdue on my okay about, gratitudinal, therapeutic post.

Strange day with bouts of feeling very odd & off. I’ll be glad when things get sorted out.

So, I made it through the 24 hours since my last post.

There have been all sorts of fledglets in the yard, doing the “feed me, feed me” act.

A baby bunny, smallest yet, bounced through the yard.

The fledged red-bellied woodpecker continues to have an amazing appetite for suet. What’s neat is the young have no colour on their heads while the male and female adults have bright red to varying degrees on their heads.

So, I guess I’m grateful for the little bit of nature that goes on in the yard. Grateful that I could still see, feel, smell, hear that world. Grateful that I could then write about it. Make a slide show of garden things.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

19 thoughts on “therapy night/morning #2

  1. manyofus1980 June 24, 2016 / 10:43 pm

    a bunny? i’m jealous. its times like that when I wish I had my eyesight. I want to see a bunny hopping. or a bird feeding. All good things to be grateful for. xxx

    Like

    • taleweavering June 25, 2016 / 2:58 am

      It must be difficult to not be able to see the bird you hear singing, or the child laughing. or.
      Gratitude is more than seeing — I hope you find it daily, too. And yes, all I mentioned are good things to be graceful for.

      Liked by 1 person

      • manyofus1980 June 25, 2016 / 3:02 am

        I’m trying. It’s good to find thing to be grateful for :-)

        Like

        • taleweavering June 25, 2016 / 7:52 pm

          Well, I will be thinking of you when I write my night/day post.
          Thank you for dropping by, and leaving comments.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. wildchild47 June 24, 2016 / 5:10 pm

    Lovely. And you know, it’s the “small” moments like these that are the ones that are going to slowly feed the spirit and soul – quietly reminding us of the need to connect – truly connect with the world – preferably as natural as possible – and yes, backyard garden green space is more than adequate – clearly all kinds of life going on at yours – and know that we aren’t the center of the universe. “Stepping outside myself” as it were.

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 9:37 pm

      Or being still long enough that an animal trusts to walk by you. Or is so used to you no being a threat, just moseys by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • wildchild47 June 24, 2016 / 9:50 pm

        Stillness …. and a peaceful, non-threatening attitude …. just waiting …. it goes a long way – and sometimes, in these small moments, some little gem, starburst and miracle unfolds, if only in our hearts. And that’s the best place to start.

        Like

  3. Sheri June 24, 2016 / 1:16 pm

    My husband excitedly came in and wanted me to follow him out to the edge of the woods. There was a box turtle there. That’s one of the fun things about living on so much acreage. There are all sorts of interesting flora and fauna. We’ve had an occasional skunk and racoon waddle past the dining area window, and of course deer are frequent visitors. As long as they steer clear of the cats, I’m happy. I get so angry at the cats when they bring a beautiful bird (not so angry about the rodents, and not happy they’re in the house-dead).

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 9:47 pm

      That’s wonderful you are surrounded by nature and her minions.
      We had a cat who snuck in live catches. He couldn’t kill anything, he just brought it home and tried getting it without us noticing. The creature was always in fine shape — not scratches, cuts, bites, just freaked.
      We feed the birds and take care of a koi pond. The pond now has netting but before I’d seen cats, raccoons and a great blue heron go after and sometimes get one. The net ripped this fall, and although I fixed it, it didn’t hold. Only lost 2 to raccoons.
      else.
      There are several cats in the neighbourhood that stack and try to catch the birds we feed. I have long talks with them first, and if they don’t become reasonable, I come running out off the house like a banshee if I see them slinking about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sheri June 26, 2016 / 9:01 am

        My parents had a koi pond and a racoon problem. Quite an expensive dinner for them, isn’t it? Our cats are constantly bringing in voles and mice, but when they bring in bunnies or birds I yell at them. A couple times one has brought in a live bird, and we have high ceilings so we just have to open all the doors and wait until it flies out. And if I see them outside, I do the banshee act as well. The “gifts” are always in varying stages of life. One of my cats started out hunting by walking in, sitting in front of me, and opening her mouth for a moth to fly out. She seemed so proud of herself.

        Like

  4. Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:20 am

    I meant to ask about the black rectangle with Depression as title, “How are you?” and FINE in many not-fine descriptors…is this copyrighted, or can anyone post it?

    Like

    • taleweavering June 24, 2016 / 4:30 am

      I found it on facebook during May’s mental health. So, I borrowed it. I’m not sure about copyright, but it hasn’t been pulled like other things I’ve posted. I don’t know about copyright and posted images in this sort of case. I thought it was brilliant.

      Like

      • Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:41 am

        It IS Brilliant–I really like it, have never seen anything quite so apropos.

        Like

  5. Shadeau June 24, 2016 / 4:18 am

    Very wonderful–I’m so glad you share these things with us, as I do benefit <3

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

