night/morning therapy #3: my but problem

This was hard tonight; every statement was struggling not to be weighted down by a “but”

I wrote a lot today [but is it any good and I didn’t finish two posts].

I went out for a walk. [but not very far].

I made an appointment to get my thinning hair cut [but it’s getting so long, even if you’ve lost at least 1/2]

That sort of a day; that sort of a thought pattern, so I put lines through the buts, as a start.

Oh, thankful for access to headphones so I could listen to music tonight, and glad I had music to listen to. No ands or buts!

And for discussions I had via my blog.

16 thoughts on “night/morning therapy #3: my but problem

  1. wildchild47 June 25, 2016 / 11:55 am

    keep up the efforts – and yeah – strike it out strike it out! It’s hard I know, but every effort helps.

    You know, confidence goes along way – even if it’s “false” – as in you don’t really believe in yourself – but if you keep repeating something simple – a really simple affirmation – like 100 times in a row – you know, some specific – “I am soul food.” I am beautiful. I am bright. Well, it may feel wholly unnatural in the beginning, but if you keep at it, without realizing it, it will become normal.

    The key is to pay attention – to your responses, body, heart, mind and spirit, when you first start – notice the resistance, notice the tension, – don’t judge, just let it be – and continue on – and stay focused on the words – and soon the tension will drop – and it’ll be okay – and then yeah, the inner critic will start – but just observe it – don’t judge it – but don’t allow it to have the final word – and keep repeating the affirmation with intention. I can bet that after 100 reps – something will have changed for you.

    So don’t think of giving up – keep trying – and do what it takes – strike through strike through strike through!

    At least, at the very least Phylor – you’ve showed up and made efforts in your day – completion or not – but at least showing up? That is huge – be thankful for the smallest gifts.

    Like

    • taleweavering June 25, 2016 / 7:58 pm

      I’m learning to kick but and butt!
      Thanks for all the contemplative insights you give. I really appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • wildchild47 June 25, 2016 / 8:11 pm

        just can’t help throwing in my 2 cents … cause I totally get where you’re at …. so yeah, keep working on kicking but and butt! (just remember, be gentle with yourself)

        Like

          • wildchild47 June 26, 2016 / 7:00 pm

            I too am struggling – and arguing with myself as it happens – but persist! Not resist! ;)

            Like

              • wildchild47 June 27, 2016 / 12:58 am

                thanks – you too :)

                Like

  2. Shadeau June 25, 2016 / 2:47 am

    The thinning hair thing is really a bummer, isn’t it? “But” we could be entirely bald… :)

    Like

    • taleweavering June 25, 2016 / 3:02 am

      If I had the nice shaped head Yul Brenner had — best bald head ever — I might just shave it off and get it over with.

      Like

      • Shadeau June 25, 2016 / 3:04 am

        Oh my, sounds a bit extreme :) And wouldn’t it be chilly in your neck of the woods? :)

        Like

        • taleweavering June 25, 2016 / 7:54 pm

          I’d have to have a selection of toques. I already wear a ball cap — have for years.

          Like

          • Shadeau June 25, 2016 / 9:03 pm

            I’ll bet you’re adorable in a ball cap! I don’t do hats, wish I looked good in one :)

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

