night/morning therapy #4: water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink

Well, I’m starting my therapy post early. I know one big gratitude that is so multifaceted.

Tonight I watered the garden, including some new flowers I put into decorative pots this afternoon. I just turned the tap, and the snaky hose filled with water. Water. Do you know how many people don’t have access to clean drinking water? Neither did I ‘til I binged it. From the United Nations [In 2013] 783 million people do not have access to clean water and almost 2.5 billion do not have access to adequate sanitation.

Not meant to be a downer – just how gratiful I am for water when I stop and think. And the other things that make life “comfortable” and even “bearable” such as safe food, electricity, footwear, toilet paper, kleenex.

I’m not yet dodging bullets and landmines. Bombs haven’t started falling from the sky like deadly raindrops.

Maybe some day. Maybe soon we’ll understand what so many people have as their reality. ‘Til then, I’m grateful I had a garden to water, water for the garden, spritzer to hold and aim. Smell the deep aroma of mulch and earth. Pungent basil and yellow flowers by the back door. Dirt under my fingernails, with a smile on my face.

IMG_20160625_152216031

3 thoughts on “night/morning therapy #4: water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink

  1. Shadeau June 26, 2016 / 3:41 am

    I loved this–first to last word. Well done, Phylor!

    Like

    • taleweavering June 26, 2016 / 12:39 pm

      Thanks, when it’s a day like that, so much to feel grateful for. Easier to have the good wash away the bad.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

