night/morning therapy #9: fireflies and koi pond rainbows

2010 01 01_0177

koi

 

The title sounds better than my over all day was.

When I was filling the koi pond, I played rain drops with the fish, sprinkling/spraying gently into their water world. Anytime you do that when the sun is out, a rainbow hovers just between the end of the water stream and the pond’s surface. I like rainbows and go chasing them when the conditions seem right to find one. But I’ve never been to the end of or over the rainbow. That’s for fable and Hollywood.

Fireflies arrived earlier in the week, and are hanging around at dusk/early evening doing their “flash” dance (Are you old enough to get the reference?). I want to catch some in a jar. My husband grew up making firefly lanterns to light up evening games in the backyard with his brothers. I don’t remember ever making a lamp from lightening bugs.

So, once again I’m grateful for things out of doors. I’m notorious now for not finishing projects or completing promises. But, in the “I’m all right department,” I did go back to last year’s trimming program (pictures in future), put the hose away, got a pot ready for some late seeds, did some writing, replied to comments, and switched between my personae leaving barely a trace of one with the other. Slipstreaming, shape shifting. I feel #s 3, 4, & 5 stirring.

4 thoughts on “night/morning therapy #9: fireflies and koi pond rainbows

  1. Mysticalwriter July 1, 2016 / 10:55 pm

    Yes, I remember them & making firefly lanterns, but couldn’t understand why they never lived long. I miss those days of waiting for dusk to appear so we could go out & catch them, put them in a jar & watch them light up!! Fun Times!!

    Like

    • taleweavering July 2, 2016 / 8:47 am

      What a nice memory, except for life span. I’ve yet to get out a jar and pound holes in the lid.
      My childhood insect memory was gathering monarch butterfly caterpillars and or pupae and raising them to monarch butterflies, then letting them go.

      Like

    • taleweavering July 2, 2016 / 5:06 pm

      I reblogged a lovely slide show of a very beautiful fish pond just a few minutes ago.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

