Judge to the Damned

I checked to see what was on my docket. I hold court down here every third Thursday. Don’t ask what sort of negotiations made that arrangement. And, it looked like a session in hell in Hell.

First up was an intellectual property, copy right suit. I hated those. Both sides trotted out their share of rapscallions, liars (how do you tell if a habitual liar is telling the truth?), and lawyers (plenty of those down here) to say THEY were first and infringed.

This time it was Pan & Bacchus v Beelzebub aka Satan, aka the Devil aka . . .  arguing who had the rights to a tarot card in the major arcana. “God, oops, Hell,” I thought, “this is going to be ugly.”

Apparently Satan thought it a minor nuisance case; he sent his B team of lawyers whose names would still sound familiar. Pan brought a Greek chorus for a cheering section. Bacchus a full scale Caligulian Roman orgy. Which was going to be rather distracting from the bench. And damn tempting . . . . “Clear head, clear heart, no mention of a soul” I mantra’d.

I won’t bore you with all the legalese, gookity-gobble, sly tongued devilishness, raucous spillage, and solemn moaning that filled the courtroom for what seemed an eternity. Down here, time tends to slow down.

To be brief (oh the punishment I can mete out): Satan: the original bad boy; current street cred; meaning of the tarot card. Pan & Bacchus: around for a hellava lot of years before anybody thought about Mr. Diabolical (who did make an entrance in Edwardian garb with wrap-around sunglasses). Covered lots of tarot interpretations as the Greeks and Romans understood Pan & Bacchus.

Both sides argued over the dating of the tarot card – hauling in faded decks on papyrus, vellum, goat skin, clay, limestone, Doric columns. The evidence table had to be reinforced by heavy metal bands 3 times.

I decided to take my thoughts on the case to the next level. The cafeteria. Over deviled eggs, a glass or two of wine, and a café Diablo, flute music on the headphones, I’ll consider both sides of the card question. I’ll let you know who ends up with the trump card. Oops – let’s just say: who cut the deck the best.

Some silliness in honour of Wild Child’s last tarot card prompt: The Devil is in the Details. Wild Child mentioned that the Devil tarot card is also aligned with Pan & Bacchus and thus a law suit was launched.

Good luck, Wild Child. Hope your tarot card readings are always good ones.

© taleweavering/phylor 2016

16 thoughts on “Judge to the Damned

  1. Shadeau July 4, 2016 / 7:08 pm

    This is too good–Bravo, standing ovation!!

    Like

    • taleweavering July 4, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Shall I bow or curtsey and happy 4th of july. Been one long fireworks show in the neighbourhood since Thursday, so it’s headphones on the computer and thinking of hell.

      Like

      • Shadeau July 4, 2016 / 7:52 pm

        Hahaha–I was hoping to have today off from the blogs…no such luck…think I’ll bake myself a pumpkin cheesecake later :)

        Like

        • taleweavering July 4, 2016 / 9:58 pm

          Leave the pumpkin out of the cheesecake and I’ll be over.

          Like

  2. wildchild47 July 4, 2016 / 8:46 am

    Holy Wonders! OMG – I so totally love this! It is brilliant! Every line, word, phrase! I’m still doubled over from laughing and absolutely gob-smacked! This is such a wonderful story – imaginative, creative, amazing characters, ideas, and well, well …. everything – point of view narration, the thoughts, etc. it’s perfect. Clearly the inspired were letting you have a great session and we get to enjoy and revel in it! (Yeah, okay, I’m a closet hedonist! ;) )

    This goes into my “file” of inspired writing – few posts make it there – but this one does.

    I thank you for sharing and playing along with the prompts – all of them. For your wonderful ideas, comments, and all your good thoughts, and well wishes. It truly has been a pleasure TW :)

    I’m still reeling over the whole setting/scenario, my face is aching with the smile that is cracking my jaw. :D

    Happy travels my friend. :)

    Like

    • taleweavering July 4, 2016 / 1:20 pm

      Glad you liked my take on the prompt. The idea of a judge came into my head. I read a mystery series that has a woman judge as the main character, and I just went there, thinking Pan & Bacchus just might launch a law suit. If you hadn’t mentioned these two, I don’t know what I’d have written.
      Thanks! for everything.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheri July 4, 2016 / 8:08 am

    This was great. The thought of judgment in hell is intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering July 4, 2016 / 9:22 am

      I was thinking about the prompt, wondering how I could move away from the devil enough to give Pan and Bacchus a break. That’s when the first bit about what’s on the docket and being hell in Hell came to mind.
      Thanks, glad it intriguing.
      Yet another twist on the Devil and Daniel Webster!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael July 3, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    Very clever take on the card…..oh to be a fly on the wall to a case such as this……

    Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

