morning/night #17: sleepiheadedness (for July 8th, 2016)

IMG_20160623_132758514

bed head

I bought a timer lid for prescription bottles. Reason? I slept from 5:30 pm to 2:30 am, and didn’t get up til 4:45 am. I’m allowed so many “calm down” pills a day, and I’m pretty good about spacing them out, no matter how bad the anxiety is – better sometimes than others, of course. Usual mitigating circumstances and all that. But I think I must have taken a dose too close to the previous dose.

I wasn’t just my “I’ve eaten and I’m going to sleep” I mean I was out of it. Which I am, again, grateful for the body-repairing nature of such sleep. But, there is a price: sleepiheadedness (bed head, and we ain’t talking the hair I have left), swelling of face and fingers – especially right side (this is an issue), and stiff right side because I don’t move out of my fetal sleeping position  much. (Oops, too much info).

Made it to the post office to send a belated b’day card to a friend, and a present and encouragement to my s-in-s who isn’t doing well.

Won’t mention the peppermint, choco-chip milk shake I had but wasn’t going to have while I was out. Maybe that’s the real secret to sleeping 8 hours.

 Self-like: hummm. Cogs turning. Brain reeling. It’s a compensation, really because I don’t call often enough, nor go over, but I do send my s-in-s cards/notes regularly, how very 19th century of me, and sometimes small gifts.

She calls me when I’m least capable of listening. And, when I call on a later date, she doesn’t answer because she’s the same.

When I send a card/gift, I don’t expect the person to do the same back. It’s up to them. Funny, tho, certain emails and messages I DO expect an answer to.

That’s me, contrarian to the end.

@ taleweavering/phylor 2016

15 thoughts on “morning/night #17: sleepiheadedness (for July 8th, 2016)

  1. wildchild47 July 11, 2016 / 12:37 pm

    There is nothing worse than oversleeping, no matter how badly we need it – because I too understand how the “not moving” from one position – I sleep most often the same way until the pain is too much and then I have to try to replace myself differently – means that when waking up, there has been too much pressure etc., aggravating all the existing pressure points and injuries. So yeah, it’s such a nasty chore – desperate to sleep – quality sleep – but too much means you pay and pay and pay for it for hours, if not longer.

    Hope you feel better sooner than later. Sending you lots of gentle hugs my friend :)

    Like

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 12:51 am

      Thanks for the gentle hugs. I wish we could get a double sleep numbers bed. I need a different sort of mattress (ours is a very utilitarian one from Ikea) one that is soft on my side, and hard on his side.
      When I still worked and travelled, sometimes I got to stay at a place with nice mattresses, or in an inn or B & B when we still took trips. I watch the fancy mattress adds and drool. Finally replaced our other mattress (a futon one we’d had for years) because I’d get up with a pinched nerve in my leg!
      Sending you hugs and wishing you gentle sleep, just enough to reach REM, but not too much to reach higher pain levels. (((((hugs)))))

      Liked by 1 person

      • wildchild47 July 12, 2016 / 5:03 pm

        Oh how the fight for decent sleep continues! Mattresses – ugh! Thankfully I sleep alone, apart from the 2 dogs and 1 cat – which honestly, can be so trying. But I can never get comfortable. Period. Sometimes I think I’d be better off sleeping hanging upside down like a bat – or in anti-gravity. I wonder if anti-gravity would actually ease the pressure points? ;)

        So yeah, I totally here you on the whole pressure points, pinched nerves etc. Totally sucks.

        And I hope you too have sweet and gentle dreams – and just enough rest so that getting up isn’t a whole new nightmare!

        Hugs back to you too ((((hugs)))))

        Like

        • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 7:09 pm

          A have a friend with an anti-gravity chair — I’ll ask her if she’s slept or falls asleep in it. I wonder about blood flow, but that must be taken into consideration. If I hang my head upside down over the side of the bed, I do get a rush of blood — very strange feeling.
          Do your animals lie really close so you can’t move? I’ve had cats like that.
          I don’t know if there are many anti-gravity chambers here on earth. Being silly, time to say ((((hugs))))).

          Liked by 1 person

          • wildchild47 July 12, 2016 / 8:16 pm

            LOL@ the upside down blood flow head rush! Yeah – that is a problem. Funny how it was so easy when we were kids – hanging around off monkey bars and from trees etc.

            Oh some days/nights I’m so badly pinned in my them that I am wedged and either have to get barking mad at them to get them to move, or beg and plead. It’s not always good to have such close company – besides, they snore! ;)

            LOL – let’s head to the bat cave and see if it’s anti-gravity! ;) It would be kinda cool- maybe I could call NASA and make inquires ;)

            be well and have a good night ((((hugs)))

            Like

            • taleweavering July 13, 2016 / 9:17 pm

              I must admit I’ve always wanted to float like the folks in the Space Station. It looks so effortless and to feel so light, so ephemeral.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Dizzy Chick July 11, 2016 / 11:58 am

    you guys aren’t the only ones who are contrarian. I don’t expect anything. but I feel bad when I don’t send something in response to getting something. I’ll have good intentions, but I still don’t do it all the time. How you can send out things when you are chronically ill, I just don’t know.
    and I’ll admit, sometimes I forget to tell someone I got something. I’ll have a thank you card sitting by the door to be mailed, and forget all about it.

    Now, my father recently died, do I need to acknowledge I got a condolence card? I am sending thank yous for those who sent in a donation in his memory. But for a card? I’m so grateful for their compassion. I want them to know. But for a card? All I know is I’ve never gotten an acknowledgement for one so they aren’t.

    Now for those lovely people who checked on me for weeks and often still are, they deserve a thank you.

    Thank you. I love you.

    Like

    • taleweavering July 11, 2016 / 11:58 pm

      When my mother died, there weren’t a lot of cards, so I acknowledged them — mostly to thank them for staying in touch with my mother. She cut herself off, so those who persisted, I felt, deserved a card.
      But, in your case, being Miss Manners, I’d say no donation = no card. Unless they were special to you or your father.
      A lot of stuff I send is to folks who are chronically ill so I don’t expect a return card/gift. I have been in the awkward position of having to try and determine in the gift arrived.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dizzy Chick July 13, 2016 / 11:25 pm

        I haven’t received many cards. So don’t think I have to worry. I hope my sister has received some. Some people acknowledge on the funeral home site. Many have said things on Facebook. None of that needs special acknowledgement, I feel.
        Every time I send something to my niece and nephew…hubby’s side, I have to ask his sister if it was received. She’s just a jerk.

        Like

  3. Shadeau July 9, 2016 / 10:33 pm

    I’m with you on the last bit–I don’t need a gift exchange, but it’s just good manners to respond when a gift (or email, messages, the like) is received. I have a hard time with people long-distance that I’ve sent gifts to–when they don’t understand that I need them to mention the item(s) and tell me how they liked it, effuse a little… Does it really cost so much to type/pen words??

    Like

      • Shadeau July 10, 2016 / 9:18 pm

        Exactly! So then when I ask that question, I feel like I’m hinting for gushing thanks… sheesh… I don’t do relationships well… ;)

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

