Would He?

Would he be on the train? She paced the platform. His message had been as vague as their relationship. 2:00 on Friday would be fine. That’s it and no response to her replies. There was a train from the city that pulled into her town at 2 pm on Fridays. Train? Skype, as they once did? Call? To or From?

This was the problem. He never clearly stated anything, including his feelings for her. Oh, he lusted, he laughed, he liked, but love? She some times couldn’t believe it but for her it was love at first sight, which meant love always.

2:05. Just as the train, slightly late, set off the crossing warning sending the bars down, she could feel her phone vibrate in her pocket. {124}

Thanks, Joy, for using another one of my pictures. I deleted the story that goes with it so folks can make their own decisions. I’ll reveal all next week – about the picture, not sit nude and type my post. For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, #73 

37 thoughts on “Would He?

  1. Joy Joyancel July 13, 2016 / 4:31 am

    It was just a text from the phone company reminding her to pay an outstanding bill.

    Like

  2. Joy Joyancel July 13, 2016 / 4:28 am

    It was a text from the phone company reminding her to pay her outstanding bill…

    Like

  3. Shadeau July 12, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    I’m waiting in suspenders (suspense) :)

    Like

  4. any1mark66 July 12, 2016 / 5:20 pm

    Interesting twist….I mean typing with clothes on. I mean the leaving it for the obvious end of him falling hopelessly in love too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 7:12 pm

      Does this mean you reveal all when you write your stories? How to make a blushing emoticon?

      Liked by 1 person

      • any1mark66 July 13, 2016 / 7:11 am

        Every once in awhile I may leave a loose end hanging out there. But it’s all in good fun. Just a stab at the possibilities of how the end may reach a clim…. Conclusion. 😊

        Like

  5. Priceless Joy July 12, 2016 / 12:46 pm

    Great story Phylor! I’m glad he finally decided to call her and let her know something! LOL! I mistook the building for a restaurant. Haha! Thank you for our photo prompt this week!

    Like

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 2:08 pm

      I had a story about the train station in my original post, but removed it when others took it to be a restaurant, which I’m pretty sure it’s never been. Next week, I’ll post the train station story.

      It’s so much a station in my mind, I wrote a story about it that way. I should have chosen a different venue to not let the railway “out of the bag.”

      It has been fun both times to see how people react to a picture I know the story of. I think it’s great you opened up the picture prompt. Sounds like you were flooded with offers. Should you fall short again, I’ve got more.

      Sorry my watermark is so faint. I have a fancy photo editing program I was gifted mainly so I could put text on photos, and that’s the aspect that doesn’t work!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy July 12, 2016 / 3:04 pm

        I look forward to reading your story! The building in the photo looks just like one of our restaurants here and is why I took it as a restaurant. I will probably open up the request for photos again in the future. I can’t hold many photos at once as I use an iPad which is pretty full as it is.

        Like

        • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 7:17 pm

          I’m amazed at the number of folks who see it as a restaurant. I keep squinting at it, from someone else’s perspective, and yes, the cars and the guardrails/fence do hide the tell-tale tracks.

          Like

          • Priceless Joy July 12, 2016 / 7:43 pm

            Hahaha! It’s amazing how many see it as a restaurant! I didn’t see train tracks at all! I’ll have to squint more and see if I see them.

            Like

          • Priceless Joy July 12, 2016 / 7:45 pm

            I think with it being so close to the community that people don’t see it as a train station – I certainly didn’t!

            Like

            • taleweavering July 13, 2016 / 9:21 pm

              And, it’s an older style from the days there were two commuter lines in town. This station only has one set of tracks and the restoration crew probably didn’t paint it to historic colours?

              Like

              • Priceless Joy July 13, 2016 / 10:47 pm

                That’s possible. I live in a small city and there are no trains here so I doubt I would have recognized it anyway.

                Like

                • Ameena k.g July 15, 2016 / 4:04 pm

                  Glad to see there are quite a few of us. I also thought it was a restaurant. A train station never crossed my mind 🙈

                  Like

                  • taleweavering July 15, 2016 / 5:48 pm

                    I love that folks thought it was a restaurant — next week I’ll include the story of the building and some close up pictures.

                    Liked by 1 person

  6. michael1148humphris July 12, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    It is good to hear her thoughts in your words. I guess that {124} means he is in India?

    Like

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 2:04 pm

      That’s a whole new spin. I forgot to say 124 was the word count! :) I was leaving it even more open ended that I knew. :) Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. creatingahome July 12, 2016 / 11:41 am

    Lovely photo!
    Hope you don’t mind but the story leaves me confused.

    Like

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 2:01 pm

      No, that’s fine. I was trying to make it one of “those” open endings. He sends a cryptic message. She thinks he means he will be on the 2pm train because he has before.
      Is he on the train pulling in. Or, is it him on the phone. Or not either. I should have been more clear in my story telling. Hope this helps.

      Like

  8. Graham Lawrence July 12, 2016 / 10:18 am

    I hope it makes you laugh but I mistook the building for a Chinese Restaurant. I guess I’m culturally challenged lol. Nice story.

    Like

    • taleweavering July 12, 2016 / 10:20 am

      Please write about a Chinese Restaurant if you like. Whose to say it really is a train station just because my story is set there? I’ll reveal all next week.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

