From/For FFfaw, July 12: the old train station slide show and true story

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All photos copyright taleweavering phylor 2016

I enjoyed reading the various uses the building in the photograph for FFfAW (July 12, 2016) were given. Since I took the picture, I know it’s an old train station, lovingly restored by train enthusiasts.

It’s now a freight, not commuter line. Once or twice a year, a cavalcade of various small train vehicles – old track checkers and inspector engines – travel the line. There are special children’s trains at Christmas and Easter. Sometimes the station doors are open, and you can see how beautiful it is inside too – all wood and decorative wainscoting and door lintels. A lovely model of the town, and train memorabilia. Talk of making it light rail, or starting up some sort of service again.

But it’s a single track – not like where I catch the train in town – where there is no station. One shelter on the to the city side, and a bench on the to Ritzyville side. There is a disintegrating industrial building, a toxic sight/site, right next to the tracks. Talk that if new services are offered, moving the train stop I use back into downtown and building a station of some sort.

So,  I when I walked by last night, I took some pictures for this slide show of the train station. Below, too, are a few pictures I found doing a quick web search of other stations in the area. Some have been, or are being restored. Unfortunately, many were just abandoned. Ticket machines not ticket agents. Doors locked; access denied. I might put together some of those buildings in a future slide show.

 

Image result for old pictures of train station hawthorne nj

 

Image result for old pictures of train station hawthorne nj

@ taleweavering phylor

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “From/For FFfaw, July 12: the old train station slide show and true story

  1. Priceless Joy July 19, 2016 / 3:02 pm

    Phylor, you have linked this post to the FFfAW Challenge Week of July 19, 2016. This should have been linked to the last FFfAW Challenge, not this one.

    Like

    • taleweavering July 19, 2016 / 5:04 pm

      I wasn’t sure where to put it. It was about my photo from July 12th, since folks were thinking it was all sorts of buildings.Take it down as it really isn’t flash fiction based on my photograph of July 12, but an explanation going forward.
      Sorry, I’ve been having computer problems of a major variety after linking up that story and I’m rather touchy. I accidently clicked on a link that came up at the point where you have linked but it asks if you want to put a notification on facebook. There was malware there, or at the least attempts to scam people due to a pop up that says you have been unfriended. I accidently clicked there, trying to get back to the link up. I’ve spent hours on the phone with a scammer I assume, notifying the bank that I might have been severely hacked. I got messages that looked like legit Microsoft pages and documents saying my computer was under attack, which lured me in. I thought, through their protection software, an issue had been detected. But it was at the least a scam to get me to by security software, or at the worst, a complete breach of my computer. As it happened at your site, I was going to let you know, but I had to wipe all passwords, and just managed to get back into one of my emails. I’ll have to change accounts completely for several and then send out notifications.
      Please just take it down. I don’t want to venture over to your site for a while. Not your fault, of course, but you might want to warn folks or to create a new linkin button. Sorry for the rant, but this has not been a good stretch, and I’m taking steroids for pain and that always makes me extra touchy. I hope no one else got caught up in this.

      Like

      • Priceless Joy July 19, 2016 / 5:16 pm

        I’m so sorry to hear about the computer problems you are having! That is so darn frustrating! I completely understand your frustration and edginess. I really don’t know how to warn people about the malware problem. I hope it doesn’t affect my computer or others that come to the site. I am also sorry to hear about your pain! I sure hope it gets better for you! I wasn’t planning on deleting your post for a few days and giving people time to read it but since you are having computer problems maybe I should go ahead and delete it. Please don’t take it personally.

        Like

        • taleweavering July 19, 2016 / 5:37 pm

          Not personally at all Joy. If I submit a story this week, I can include the slides maybe so folks can see the tracks.
          Yes, your right, no way to warn folks, these things happen. Just sorry I was so sharp with you. It’s always frustrating and steroids make me crazier than I already am.
          Thanks for your patience. I’ll try not to shy away from your site, and be more careful where my I position my mouse.
          Great response already to your lantern — lovely photograph.

          Like

          • Priceless Joy July 19, 2016 / 6:15 pm

            I totally understand Phylor! Steroids do weird things to me too. I hate having to take them.

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

