Aftermath

With Sheri’s permission, I’m reblogging, her post, Aftermath.
Powerful words and such a vivid description of how an abused woman’s experiences have shaped who she is, and then, her own concept of who she wants to be.

broken fingernails

hiding kittyThe following are not my words, but they struck deep into my soul. After escaping the prison of abuse, anxiety and fear may govern the survivor’s life for a while. This plea for understanding exemplifies these overwhelming feelings. The simple fact that we feel we need to explain ourselves is evidence of the trauma we have experienced. We should know that the people who love and care about us do so unconditionally; but unfortunately that is a concept we’ve never been able to grasp.

I feel like I need to explain something to my friends. So listen: I love you all and I want to hang out with all of you. But on top of my kid schedule, my work schedule, my finances, and I’m trying to get back into school right now, I have my dumb mental health to deal with. Understand that most of my life, out of…

View original post 290 more words

2 thoughts on “Aftermath

I love dialogue. Do you?

