cloth of cobalt blue

I’ve been participating in Jane’s amazing Microfiction Challenge, and thought I’d try sneaking into the poetry challenge, too. Both Jane’s poem and the John Bauer illustration drew me in. So, here is Cloth of Cobalt Blue for Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #40: Rider.

Riddaren_rider_by_John_Bauer_1914

Illustrator: John Bauer; words: star, gift, wander, soaring, cobalt

Cloth of Cobalt Blue

For you, my dear,

I bring a a worthy gift

cloth wove cobalt blue

shot through with silver thread

to bind the stars

‘tis soft as your skin

t’is blue as you eyes

would you pledge

to make a wedding dress

of this gift of cloth

that we might be as one

no more to wander

but to be by your side

your gentle love my

reward

your loving touch

my grace

your look making

my heart to soar

for you, my dearest,

I bring a worthy gift

will that you

accept it, accept me

16 thoughts on “cloth of cobalt blue

  1. rivrvlogr July 26, 2016 / 9:50 am

    Jane’s comparison to Yeats rings true.

    Like

  2. Shadeau July 21, 2016 / 6:08 pm

    This is SO gorgeous–I think you know how much I love cobalt blue!

    Like

  3. Jane Dougherty July 21, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    Makes me think of the cloths of heaven. Lovely story, worthy of a folk tale :)

    Like

    • taleweavering July 21, 2016 / 3:40 pm

      Thank you Jane. The illustration is captivating, and I enjoyed your poem. So, is it okay if I play along? :)

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

