Damselfly Transmigration

Image: dragonfly damselfly

The bitter gun-mental taste of blood in my mouth. My hands automatically flew to my protruding stomach – had the fetus been damaged?

“The fetus,” Jeff yelled this morning, “Damn it when are you going to call her the baby?”

Even the backlit sonogram, revealing gender, could not shake my detachment from the umbilical cord which undoubtedly bound us.

For me, all an anechdoche; disconnected emotions and feelings; a conversation of layered nonsense.

All Jeff could talk of. Fix up the attic as a nursery. Names and meanings. Supplies. I’d half-listen, my mind fidgeting. His words held no resonance. This was his baby, his girl.

I escaped Jeff’s obsession in my skiff. On the turning tide, on sleety grey afternoons, heaving towards Prichard’s Point, close to breakers at Fiddler’s Cove. Row til my muscles squealed like the oars in the oarlocks.

Today, the wind freshened from the east, backing up the rollers against the beach, as I pulled towards home. A gust and a wave hit the skiff at the same time, sending the little boat into an outcrop of granite. I’d careened violently forward, slamming my face and my abdomen on the deck. The taste of blood.

Then, I became aware of a faint fluttering in my uterus, like the delicate wings of a damselfly beating. “Her transmigration,” I thought.

Another set of fascinating and challenging words provided by Yves in Wordle # 119.

@ taleweavering phylor

19 thoughts on “Damselfly Transmigration

  1. Shadeau July 25, 2016 / 9:55 pm

    WOWZA, I don’t know how you write like this, when you’re suffering all manner of frequent issues…I’m beyond impressed, overwhelmed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering July 25, 2016 / 10:00 pm

      Honest, sometimes the words just come. They seem to know how to order themselves. Then let me play around some to see how else they might sound. Thank you for the wonderful compliment. I’m blushing.

      Like

      • Shadeau July 25, 2016 / 10:41 pm

        Ohhhh, the blush looks pretty on you! I agree that sometimes the words just fall out on the page–makes my job much easier; but yours are somehow more “elevated”, for lack of better description this evening :)

        Like

          • Shadeau July 26, 2016 / 3:14 am

            I consider this a good day’s work on my part then :) And I’ll be working on my response to the wordle later on–not even trying to out-do you!

            Like

              • Shadeau July 27, 2016 / 9:10 pm

                Thank you, Phylor–I’ll let you judge the piece I posted :)

                Like

  2. Dizzy Chick July 25, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    I was held by the words, the feelings they provoked.
    good job.
    I’m amazed at how you come up with things like this from just a word.
    simply amazing.
    and as an after thought or what I thought at the end.
    Well Jeff won’t be pleased.

    Like

    • taleweavering July 25, 2016 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks.
      No, Jeff won’t be happy.
      When I do the Wordles, Yves sets us such an intriguing list of words, sometimes related, other times not, that a story might write itself. Like this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. any1mark66 July 25, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    You may have used more words but you packed a couple solid punches to the psyche here. Really good job with the dissociative disorder character. Sad ending but very fitting to the character. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering July 25, 2016 / 9:55 pm

      My comments keep disappearing. Those gremlins are hungry again.
      I tend to not write happy endings. But that’s my personality.

      Liked by 1 person

      • any1mark66 July 25, 2016 / 10:49 pm

        I tend to fall on the dark side as well. But I’m convinced WordPress is waging a technology war against us. I do appreciate they wait until the story is finished before it disappears completely.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

