SoCS: art should amaze and surprise

SoCSArt. The ability alludes me. I once did dip-pen calligraphy, but could never “illuminate” my manuscripts, because I can’t draw worth s**t. If my mother, the artist, hadn’t helped with my perspective drawings, still life, and posed figure (I said I needed to finish each one at home), I would have flunked art class in high school. And, I needed the credit because I was flunking home ec(onomics), Spanish, and Math. The only time my mother knew I cheated. I did the collage just fine on my own.

Art is always amazing me. My first trip to MoMa (Museum of Modern Art) in New York City was mind-bamboozling. Dali’s melting clock is the tiniest little painting, some of the “dotty” paintings (to us hicks in ball caps, pointillism to the art-informed) are floor to ceiling. And one of Monet’s Water lily’s (who knew he painted a bunch) is in a room by it’s self with only natural light from windows on 3 sides and sky-light, so that every time you go, the painting is different – certain colours become prominent, others fade back. But that’s art – it should amaze and surprise you.

And, now I will surprise and amaze you. At the Lord Beaverbrook Art Gallery in Fredericton, New Brunswick (Canada) there is a floor to ceiling Dali painting – yes Salvatore – Santiago El Grande, flanked by his portrait of Lady Beaverbrook and one of Beaverbrook’s friend, Sir James Dunn. Max Aiken was given a lordship for his work with the British government (among other things).

Now Fredericton is the capital, it does house the University, but 3 Dalis – does that not amaze and surprise you? I’ll illustrate this SoCS when I’m finished, which I just about am. This is an absolutely true story – rare with me I know. But I taught for awhile at the university, and edited an academic journal.

Maybe even more important than Dali: a former student, now on faculty, family had a maple sugar bush and made the best Grade A+ light amber maple syrup (top of the line) which we got at a discount from the stand he manned for his family on the weekends at the year round Famer’s Market. When I taught him, the bottles were freebies. Hummmm. Was that a bribe? Can’t ask Dali. Oh well.

Art. I can’t do it. But it never ceases to amaze and surprise me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All, but the clocks, are Dali’s works in Fredericton. Santiago El Grande is el grande!

Yikes — I forgot to link back to Linda — the inspiration for SoCS: art and to display, with pride the “aging” but still attractive badge

SoCS badge 2015

2 thoughts on “SoCS: art should amaze and surprise

  1. jacquelineobyikocha July 31, 2016 / 8:19 am

    I love art too and could maybe do some painting, drawing and needle work. I enjoyed the museum display.

    Like

  2. Shadeau July 30, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    Love your story–and I’m in awe of artists, as I can barely do stick figures.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

