Jane Dougherty’s Microfiction #9: the rainbow

The rainbow: a beginning, middle, and end all in less than 200 worlds.

Archip_Iwanowitsch_Kuindshi_009

I stretched out on the freshly washed grass. Newly scythed wheat fields smelled of bread and wildflower. The downpour, soaked me to the skin, even my heavy apron couldn’t hide the contours of my body.

The rain freshened the stream too, just as my thoughts of you quicken my luxuria. Soon, through the door, though the rainbow you would step, amethyst eyes only on me; wrap in a shawl of sunglint colours.

Damn the nuns; I was already damned by you. The dark walk down the avenue to met you, again, here gave me time to think. How to tell you about my shy smile, and my other, our other tiny life.

18 thoughts on “Jane Dougherty’s Microfiction #9: the rainbow

    • taleweavering August 15, 2016 / 12:51 am

      Thank you, Freya — I do have some ideas, and Jane’s pictures may provide more room for the story, and the baby to grow.

      Liked by 1 person

    • taleweavering August 15, 2016 / 1:12 am

      I tried to comment on your wonderful rainbow story from JD’s Microfiction Challenge, but I have been having a hard time leaving comments — WordPress and I aren’t seeing eye to comment.
      It was a wonderful story, Freya, and I really enjoyed the way in which you spun your tale.

      Like

      • freyathewriter August 15, 2016 / 8:48 am

        Thank you! I sometimes have struggles with leaving comments on Blogger, so I feel your pain!

        Like

    • taleweavering August 13, 2016 / 4:15 pm

      Thank you — that is a wonderful compliment from someone who writes as beautifully and expressively as you do.!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fantasy Raconteur August 14, 2016 / 5:26 am

        My pleasure and, in turn, thank you=) You have a talent with these tender yet descriptive phrases which give a nice flow to your stories – something I have trouble with. I look forward to more!

        Like

  1. Michael August 12, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    I like how you used colour so well to convey the vividness of your story….well done..

    Like

    • taleweavering August 13, 2016 / 4:31 pm

      Thank you, kind sir, I’m both blushing and curtseying, she said with a wink and a smile.

      Like

  2. Jane Dougherty August 12, 2016 / 4:02 pm

    It’s Maria again from the Sound of Music! This one so fits the painting though I’m not sure why. There’s a luxurious (!) green and a hint of heaven. Just right for the message your character (Maria) has to impart. I really like this story :)

    Like

    • taleweavering August 13, 2016 / 4:23 pm

      Thanks Jane. My comments have been disappearing into the heavens, too! I just looked at the picture and saw elements of other microfiction.
      I have a half-finished Maria and the dark avenue, but with a slightly different twist.
      Thanks so much for hosting this and giving such great feed back.
      Is there a specific # of prompts, or will it be on going? Even if I don’t participate, I’ll miss it.

      Like

      • Jane Dougherty August 13, 2016 / 4:31 pm

        I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s been having problems. Infuriating isn’t it? I’ll keep on with the prompts as long as there’s an interest. In fact, I’ll probably keep at it even if everybody else drops off. I enjoy it too :)

        Like

        • taleweavering August 13, 2016 / 5:01 pm

          It was bad enough when I had two blogs; WordPress never recognized which blog was which. But now that I do 2 different bi-monthly prompts (one on each), life is prompt hell.
          I have to go through a 10 step process to get WordPress to stop being the wrong personae even though I’m signed out as one and signed in as the other. Think I’ll just make a third personae, and then can say, even though the comment says X, it’s really Y here!
          God, must be so much worse for you with all the traffic on your blog and so many folks participating in your prompts! Aarrggh is what I’d say. I’ll post my Charlie Brown I can’t take it cartoon again before a rant on this!
          Take good care, hope your move is going okay.

          Like

          • Jane Dougherty August 14, 2016 / 3:50 am

            I have a second blog that I use as a website for my books. It’s very discreet, I obviously don’t post much new stuff on it, so WP never bothers me about it. Funnliy enough I have to do the signing in and signing out on Kindle to access my books. Half of them for some reason are only accessible through husband’s amazon account!
            The move is on pause while we finish things up at this end. When the big clean up is over we can get back to working on the new place. Moving stuff bit by bit is longer but more traumatic than trying to do the whole lot in one go.

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

