Munch & Seuss

paper-bag princess book

inspires

still

“Where you are depends on how you get there. Which is the story of my life and yours too.”

~ *~ * ~ *

I would read Dr. Seuss in a boat

I would read Dr. Seuss with a goat

I would read Dr. Seuss in a box

I would read Dr. Seuss with a fox

I would read Dr. Seuss with who beast and ham

As Dr. Seuss helped create the me that is just as I am

“Think. Wonder. Wonder. Think.”

The Paper Bag Princess is a children’s book written by Robert Munsch and illustrated by Michael Martchenko. It was first published on 1 May 1980 by Annick Press. The story reverses the princess and dragon stereotype. As a result, it has won critical acclaim from feminists, including an endorsement from the National Organization for Women, which sells the book on its website. Wikipedia

Green Eggs and Ham is a best-selling and critically acclaimed children’s book by Dr. Seuss, first published on August 12, 1960. As of 2001, according to Publishers Weekly, it was the fourth best-selling English-language children’s book of all time. Wikipedia

Oh, the headache I got trying to decide my favourite author or favourite book. Just too much. I have so many favourites or ones that have influenced me, changed me, rearranged me. Genres mostly mystery now – select authors, some write historical mysteries, some contemporary. Not “cozies,” nor noir nor spy nor thriller nor gore.

Two books came to mind (as much as the author’s did too). The Paper Bag Princess should be given to every girl born anywhere in the world! There’s not many books I can say that about. Poetry form is tilus: 6/3/1

 Green Eggs and Ham, while not my favourite Dr. Seuss, however I had it memorized  – even now I can recite passages. My love of reading may have started with “See Dick.” “See Jane.” “See Spot,” but my capacity to absorb, retain, and gain from books and words comes from Sam I am.

Image found HERE

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Writing Prompt: Spinning of a Story, August 14, 2016

30 thoughts on “Munch & Seuss

  1. any1mark66 August 16, 2016 / 3:24 pm

    Dr Sue’s, how do you know if you have spun ones of his tales? Nice
    Choices though. 😀

    Like

      • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 7:19 am

        I’ll have to take a look after I get rid of this brat in the red cape. She’s stalking my brain stem at night now!

        Like

        • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 8:01 am

          I left a comment there — great stuff; think you’re working Jezzie out of your system — do like the touch of kind of flowers, and I definitely like the Huntsman!!!!

          Liked by 1 person

          • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 8:09 am

            Thank you for the kind words. The flowers are standards of late summer, a pale foreshadowing of a change in season. The Huntsman should be a bad ass and what better lure to a sweet young troublemaker. 😉

            Like

              • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 9:55 am

                Hmm, medieval chocolate shop. Maybe I can use that later on, when she’s an old lady retelling her story working as a chocolatier.

                Like

                • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 9:59 am

                  I’m not sure when chocolate made it’s way to Europe. Hot chocolate was popular in men’s coffee houses in the 1700s.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 10:02 am

                    The Spanish would have bright it out of the New World in the 1520’s. By when it would have been popular amongst common folk want probably until the late 1800’s.

                    Like

                    • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 10:03 am

                      Still, Jezzie is a fairy tale, so you could still have her as a chocolatier — I like that idea.
                      I should be better at the history stuff. Used to teach it, but dates were always a problem!

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 10:21 am

                      That could be my fairy tale ending. After years of hard work, she overcame her rough start in life to become a black widow with a thriving chocolate business.

                      Like

                    • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 10:11 pm

                      It costs a lot of bases. I was looking to leave her hanging

                      Like

                    • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 11:01 pm

                      Well that would depend on whether she got the other person first and whom that person was. The Huntsman is a family man, the village is full of potential victims who will get sick of the little red caped girl, the wolf has a family as well. We often tie our own noose, but borrow someone else’s tree. 😀

                      Like

        • a darkened house August 17, 2016 / 8:10 am

          Left comments several places — good take on the story, nice details (flowers, etc) and as I said elsewhere, damn, I like the Huntsman!!! Is Jezzie going to play hard to get?

          Liked by 1 person

          • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 8:33 am

            She’s a young girl! Hard to get isn’t as important as being got. That will come later on on life on the next man or so.😉 He’s prefect person for the right role. And what a role he has!!

            Like

              • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 9:15 am

                14 or so. But the story is from the medieval times, that would be almost marrying age

                Like

                • a darkened house August 17, 2016 / 9:32 am

                  There is some debate now about how early girls married. They were supposed to be able to conceive, so certain things had to be happening, and I don’t know if that was sooner as life expectancies were shorter.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 9:48 am

                    It depended on social status as well. Poor girls went early. Simply less mouths to feed, and I do believe conception wasn’t as much an issues as giving birth itself. Lots of deaths in child birth. But that was God forcing you to pay for sins and such. 🙂

                    Like

                    • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 9:51 am

                      Children having children. Female mortality birth rates remained high well into the 19th century, even among the higher classes. To say nothing of the child death rate from ages 0 to 1.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 9:58 am

                      We have changed as a society, now they still have children less often but they almost all live. Still interesting that we see times and social normals change but they really flux between points.

                      Like

                    • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 10:01 am

                      I’m not ancient, but I was the first first on either side of the family. All the other 1st children died by age 1. So, my parents waited 2 weeks after I turned one to celebrate. Even after me, there were several early deaths. I feel like I come from a 19th or earlier family at times.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 10:12 am

                      You are truly unique. The amount of pre natal care available now is incredible. As I near my second decade of “f” word ages my mom needed a shot to save her babies as dad was a positive blood type and she was negative. I am negative so I would have made it, but my older sister was positive and not so likely to have lived

                      Like

              • any1mark66 August 17, 2016 / 9:49 am

                Yep. Dark characters are always better to associate with…..at first.

                Like

  2. Oloriel August 15, 2016 / 4:07 pm

    Oh, I can say for sure I know your pain of picking a favourite! It is also very admirable to hear that so many books inspire you.
    I love your choices, because in my country, both of these books are non-existent and in elementary school we never even hear about Dr. Seuss.

    Like

    • taleweavering August 17, 2016 / 2:20 am

      Oh, what a shame about Dr. Seuss — he lets a child be silly and read. I hope you get a chance to read him as an adult. He is still silly and funny and we all need a piece of that, I think.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

