Jake Collier’s Tombstone

Thank you, Priceless Joy for choosing one of my photographs for your 81st FFfAW. Don’t know for sure if Jake’s there, but a family of groundhogs live in the back yard.

See his family is still at it.

Imagine – letting a house rot

Oh my, is his tombstone still ….

Yep – they can’t decide on whose responsibility to take it graveside since Jake made it himself.

Or – find someone to do it cheaply enough, I bet

Poor Jake. Bad enough to be saddled with that lot when . . .

But, now. No wonder he doesn’t rest in peace.

Ssshh, here he comes. Don’t want to make him any more feel any more depressed

He needs to think he has a ghost of a chance. . . .

30 thoughts on “Jake Collier’s Tombstone

  1. milliethom September 10, 2016 / 8:35 am

    A great conversation, Phylor. I really like the way it plays out, and the nice spooky twist at the end. I wasn’t expecting that.

    Like

    • taleweavering September 10, 2016 / 3:23 pm

      Thank you. I like twists and since I knew it really was a tombstone — why I don’t know, there’s no grave — it kinda made sense.
      Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ve been rather confined lately and don’t get out to read what other’s are writing often enough!

      Like

      • milliethom September 10, 2016 / 6:02 pm

        I know the feeling. Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day to get round to reading other people’s posts, much as I love doing it! I end up playing ‘catch up’ quite a lot. :)
        Your photo is lovely.

        Like

        • taleweavering September 10, 2016 / 8:25 pm

          Thank you — it’s behind the house we rent in the next yard.

          Like

  2. Wendy September 8, 2016 / 5:22 pm

    I LOVE the photo!! and the story! You done good girl!

    Like

  3. afairymind September 7, 2016 / 1:44 pm

    Lovely little spooky tale, Phylor. :) Hopefully Jake will eventually be able to rest in peace.

    Like

  4. maria September 6, 2016 / 10:20 pm

    Haha.. I enjoyed this very much. I felt like eavesdropping to their conversation. :D

    Like

  5. Graham Lawrence September 6, 2016 / 10:33 am

    Enjoyable story and great last line!

    Like

  6. Priceless Joy September 6, 2016 / 9:23 am

    I enjoyed how you had ghosts having a conversation. LOL! Loved the last line! Great story Phylor! And, thank you so much for loaning us this photo for our photo prompt.

    Like

    • taleweavering September 6, 2016 / 9:29 am

      No problem Joy. Anytime. And it really is a tombstone, not a Halloween decoration but I don’t know how it relates to the house.

      Like

      • Priceless Joy September 6, 2016 / 9:39 am

        I guess I need to look at the photo closer because I didn’t see a Halloween decoration or a tombstone. I’m going to go look now.

        Like

      • Priceless Joy September 6, 2016 / 9:41 am

        Oh! I see it now. It is a tombstone! I didn’t even notice it until you mentioned it.

        Like

  7. Michael September 6, 2016 / 2:52 am

    I like how you went about this, nicely done….

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

