Tale Weaver: Juiced Genie, Barbara and I and the Sultan of Swing

I looked at what crawled out of my jinn bottle. She didn’t look so good. My genie had too many skinny girl martinis to be of much help. “Ouch, my head hurts”, she moaned. Okay 365 wishes and one more for leap year. “Okay okay as long as one includes barista style coffee maker and place by the sea,” she whined. “Your wish is my command” I smiled.

Zap – a tiny solitary house on beach with a smokin’ kitchen, a hung over genie demanding double espressos and 365 wishes of mine. Of course, learning curve with wishes for both of us. Like biggies – world peace kinda back fired – physical fighting at the UN. But small worked, like girls in a village learning to read safely and encouragement.

My genie was selfish and self-centered, “Let’s make all unstylish people into rats?” “You are definitely no fun” she stomped off. Liked wild parties that spilled into our space. Then I took a half wish, and found myself somewhere peaceful and calm til the chaos, mayhem and clean up stopped. We cut some wishes into quarters – no point in wasting a whole wish on a pint of premium ice cream for example.

Takes a while to use up that many wishes, and it wasn’t a wish a day thing, so on our anniversary, my genie, Barbara, gave me a Lucas Grogan flying carpet. So special – of course, ulterior motive – she had her eye on the Sultan of Swing and this was the best way to make a grand entrance. This is when we fought – what if I wouldn’t wish; what if she wouldn’t grant. Like two spoiled kid sisters. Lots of stomping and name calling, and we’d give in.

So, off to the Sultan of Swing, she in her skimpiest genie costume, which jealously she could get away with even eating maple ice cream and granola sundaes for breakfast, drizzled with maple syrup. I had coffee and would never fit into her most diaphanous genie get ups. I in my latest black outfit with my Chinese embroidered slippers – a full, selfish wish those shoes.

We did make for a decent team – despite Barbara’s selfish and self-centered tendencies. We did some good – literacy, clean water, empowerment on a small scale, and some fun on a larger scale – all the fountains bubbling at once for a day – to make it worthwhile. And my leap year wish, for another 365 wishes plus one.

Written for MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver: Juiced Genie

A genuine Lucas Grogan flying carpet (created for Basil Bangs, and absconded by us):

Lucas Grogan & Basil Bangs

9 thoughts on “Tale Weaver: Juiced Genie, Barbara and I and the Sultan of Swing

  1. any1mark66 September 11, 2016 / 8:20 pm

    Picnics are magical. But getting a shiver in the dark, stopping at the river and holding everything with a band blowing dixie, double four time. …. I missed the genie part of the song 😉

    Like

      • any1mark66 September 11, 2016 / 11:01 pm

        Well that’s a whole different surface to rub! And my female experiences say 365 wishes will never happen. 3, 5,maybe 6 with good behavior

        Like

  2. Michael September 8, 2016 / 11:56 pm

    Enjoyed your story and Lucas would be so pleased to know his picnic rug is all magic……

    Like

    • taleweavering September 9, 2016 / 12:24 am

      Glad I could make his wonderful rugs magic and flying. Seemed so appropriate.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

